Verizon S4

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy S4' started by revolution5150, Jul 11, 2013.

  1. revolution5150

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey All,

    I have my s4 from Verizon for 3 days and for some reason, I cant launch the s voice from double clicking the home button. Any Ideas?

    Also, is there a way to when you get a text to see who is is on your home screen notification rather then it just saying text message?

    Thank you
     
  2. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,080
    Likes Received:
    1,508
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,672
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
    You may have it disabled, I think it comes disabled out of the box. Try going to s-voice settings and see if you can turn it on from there.

    Check the settings in the messaging app and their should be a setting regarding "preview" I think.

    sorry I'm thinking off the top of my head as I forgot my phone at home...
     
  3. GVLBob

    GVLBob Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    Ratings:
    +16
    Opening S Voice by pressing the Home button twice is a feature that must be turned on. The default for this is "off".
     
  4. revolution5150

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yep that is it, it was not setup. TY

    I noticed that on the at&t and sprint phones of the s4 that in the quick settings there is a toggle button for wifi that does not seem to exist in the Verizon model. Am I missing something or is that correct?
     
  5. GVLBob

    GVLBob Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    Ratings:
    +16
    You are correct, there is not toggle for Wi-Fi with Verizon. It's one click away, however.

    I didn't know that the other guys provide one... that is interesting.
     
  6. kevsgroove

    kevsgroove Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    Ratings:
    +73
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Ti's true, and this was discussed in another thread right around launch date. Actually, the every other version of the S4 other than Verizon's offer 3 additional toggles (19 vs16). Don't recall what the other two are off the top of my head though.

    Shame of it now is with the new update causing users to lose root, the toggle for Wi-Fi then will either go away or be rendered useless. I don't root, but I'm pulling for the developers/hackers on this one. You should have that option.

    edit: sorry about the duplicate post. Sent from my S4 and didn't see the first one take. The upper one can be removed. Thanks
     
    #6 kevsgroove, Jul 11, 2013
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2013
Search tags for this page

double clicking home button of s4 not working verizon

,
galaxy s4 verizon wifi toggle
,

verizon s4 forum

,
wifi toggle galaxy s4 verizon