Verizon Prematurely Starts (& stops) Marshmallow for Motorola Droid Turbo 2

Discussion in 'Motorola DROID Turbo 2' started by dgstorm, Feb 12, 2016.

  1. dgstorm

    dgstorm Editor in Chief
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,016
    Likes Received:
    3,979
    Trophy Points:
    823
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +4,254
    [​IMG]

    We have received several reports that Verizon started rolling out the latest Android Marshmallow update to the Motorola Droid Turbo 2, but then suddenly stopped it. The build was 24.14.9, but we suspect they found a hiccup that caused them to yank it. When they start it up again it will likely have a different number.

    Stay tuned for more details, or if you see something before we post anything, be sure to share it here!
     
  2. 252chevyboyz

    252chevyboyz Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    157
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +160
    Got several notifications it was coming out. Thank you for the update though. Looking forward to it rolling out.

    Sent from my T2
     
  3. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    11,343
    Likes Received:
    7,088
    Trophy Points:
    1,863
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +7,598
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Droid Z Force
    I saw the Moto Forum go nuts for a few minutes. Then....sad people.
     
    • Funny Funny x 2
  4. 252chevyboyz

    252chevyboyz Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    157
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +160
    Haha I could imagine. I just think when it rolls out it rolls out. No need to rush it

    Sent from my T2
     
    • Like Like x 2
  5. Clamshell

    Clamshell Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    San Diego
    Ratings:
    +60
    Will it fix the green line issue on the display? Just kidding. Anyone know if they've identified the cause and fix yet?
    I'm holding off on picking a Turbo 2 up till they do. Also waiting for the 20th to see if I get hit with the Unltd. increase.
    Sorry for jacking this thread.
     
  6. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    11,343
    Likes Received:
    7,088
    Trophy Points:
    1,863
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +7,598
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Droid Z Force
    No idea, haven't heard anything on the cause. But Moto & Verizon are replacing affected phones.
     
  7. 252chevyboyz

    252chevyboyz Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    157
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +160
    Replacing the bugged updated phones?

    Sent from my T2
     
  8. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    11,343
    Likes Received:
    7,088
    Trophy Points:
    1,863
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +7,598
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Droid Z Force
    No. Replacing the phones with the green lines on the screen. I have not heard of any phones borked up from a software update.
     
  9. 252chevyboyz

    252chevyboyz Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    157
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +160
    That's good news the bug in the pulled update didn't have a bad effect on the hardware. Also great to hear they are replacing the phones with the green line

    Sent from my T2
     
  10. Clamshell

    Clamshell Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    San Diego
    Ratings:
    +60
    FWIW..read on another forum they still don't know if it's hardware, software or a bad batch of parts. Supposedly still happening to recently built Turbo 2's. Hopefully not a design issue. I'm really looking forward to one of these.
     
  11. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    11,343
    Likes Received:
    7,088
    Trophy Points:
    1,863
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +7,598
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Droid Z Force
    Bug i n the pulled update???
     
  12. 252chevyboyz

    252chevyboyz Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    157
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +160
    Software updates were pushed out in a small group before a bug was found in it. Then they stopped the update and withdrew it supposedly. I haven't heard from anyone who got it or havent seen screenshots of the update. Don't know how true it was that it reached phones but I believe they were about to let it roll out and then found a bug in it. After the bug was discovered they stopped the roll out and not sure when it is supposed to start again

    Sent from my T2
     
Search tags for this page

image nette motorola droid turbo

,

motorola android 2016

,

motorola turbo2