Verizon Note 8 just received Android 9!

zinethar

Reaction score
Current Phone Model
Note 8 and Note 10
Today my phone informed me that it was waiting to install the "latest" android version 9. Just installed it and wondered if anyone had any issues or other interesting things I should know. So far the phone received a call fine but I have little other experience yet. Of course all the icons look different so that will take some getting used to.

OP
zinethar

zinethar

Reaction score
Current Phone Model
Note 8 and Note 10
OK I now have my first frustration with this "upgrade". When working at my desk I leave my phone on its wireless charger and use it as my desk clock. It used to display the time on the screen always when the screen was off (sleeping?). It now only shows when I touch it making it useless. Anyone know how to fix this back to what it was? I want always on to be just that.

bkdodger

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
Current Phone Model
Note 10+
Do you have in display then screen saver in your menu then tap to show always... I'm going by my phone don't have the Note

S10+ Tapatalk

OP
zinethar

zinethar

Reaction score
Current Phone Model
Note 8 and Note 10
Thanks for the response - I had the always on display turned on BUT didn't know there was another page where I had to select ALWAYS instead of tap to show. All fixed now.

stevenlf82

Reaction score
Current Phone Model
Samsung Galaxy Note 8
Twitter
@stevenlf512
I'm really digging the update,I'm glad we have night mode again.

OP
zinethar

zinethar

Reaction score
Current Phone Model
Note 8 and Note 10
I'm really digging the update,I'm glad we have night mode again.
Me too so far. It has been so long since looking at a different android update I notice a lot more things this time - most notably the color on the "always on" screen!

BigNunz6

Reaction score