Verizon hates radio apps!

Discussion in 'Android Applications Discussions' started by Sal, May 9, 2010.

  1. Sal

    Sal Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    D.C.
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is it just me, or do others find this? Whenever I use either RadioTime or XiiaLive (droidlive) for more than a few minutes (say, about 15-25m), whether I'm walking outside or working out on a stationary machine at the gym, my 3G signal gets spotty and/or disappears. No bars, suddenly...

    Do you think this is some diabolical Verizon plot/automated response to reduce data usage? It happens all the time and is very annoying.
     
  2. circsmonky

    circsmonky Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    had no problems driving all over the chicago area using pandora.
     
  3. Sal

    Sal Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    D.C.
    Ratings:
    +0
    It seems to be the apps that have actual radio stations. I listen to local DC stations and a variety of regular internet radio music stations on radiotime and xiialive.
     
  4. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,261
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Ratings:
    +24
    Current Phone Model:
    iPhone 7+ 256gb
    Been using Radiotime since it was Beta....3 to 4 hours a day on 3g.

    No issues.
     
  5. hookerdj

    hookerdj Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    pittsburgh
    Ratings:
    +0
    i listen to the radio for most of the day sometimes mines good

     
  6. toddegreene

    toddegreene Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I use xiiaLive regularly and have no problem.
     
  7. Sal

    Sal Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    D.C.
    Ratings:
    +0

    Darn. So it is just me. Wonder what a solution might be. Is there some quick/easy way to jar the signal back to life, when you know you are already in a good spot, short of rebooting the phone?

    Rebooting my phone seems to do that for me; suddenly my bars will all come back. But that's a pain. I've been imagining that rebooting my phone tricks Verizon somehow and they don't realize that I've been a data hog that day or something.
     
  8. LtKen

    LtKen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,628
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +3
    I use RadioTime about 3 hours every day in the California desert, with no problems.
     
  9. inmate369

    inmate369 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    757
    Ratings:
    +2
    I'm in virginia beach and get the same spotty coverage when running radio time
     
  10. Sal

    Sal Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    D.C.
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmmm. Wonder if it is a regional issue. D.C. and Va Beach would probably be part of the same region...(btw, I grew up in Norfolk. Howdy!)
     
  11. BadWolf

    BadWolf Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I live north of Boston and get spotty coverage when running radio time.
     
  12. verian

    verian Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    You should use the magic of the internet. You can search to see exactly where your towers are and how far from you they are and remember to use the #2 option once in a while (*228 then option 2). I know my coverage is spotty cause all the towers are pretty far away from me. If a leaf falls from a tree I go to 1x but I new that going in and I'm ok with.