Verizon Droid Turbo Has Been Rooted?!

Discussion in 'Android News' started by DroidModderX, Mar 12, 2015.

  1. DroidModderX

    DroidModderX Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5,747
    Likes Received:
    2,120
    Trophy Points:
    478
    Ratings:
    +2,239

    Above is a video by "disekt" that purportedly shows adb shell getting root and changing permissions of a root owned block device. This doesn't appear to be ready for mass release, but we will keep you updated on this.
     
  2. grenefroggie

    grenefroggie Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    963
    Likes Received:
    398
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Location:
    KY
    Ratings:
    +464
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Nexus 5
    That sounds awesome. Does this phone "suffer" from the same flaw that other Motorola phones do that makes the bootloader easily unlockable? Would be nice
     
  3. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,806
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,290
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    Really?! OMG, that would be awesome. A rooted Turbo.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. pwrdbykyank

    pwrdbykyank Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +40
    Would the person doing the root on the turbo benefit from the software on the bootloader unlocked prototype I have to get root completed and bootloader unlocked as well?
     
  5. supermandroid

    supermandroid Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Gastonia, NC
    Ratings:
    +82
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto X 2nd Gen
    Woot woot! Hopefully a similar exploit can be taken advantage of on the Moto X 2014!
     
  6. kodiak799

    kodiak799 Gold Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    6,009
    Likes Received:
    775
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Ratings:
    +942
    I need root for just a couple apps/functions to make my phone run without a hitch....and sounds like it's important to get root before the Lollipop update....Now DEFINITELY don't update to Lollipop
     
  7. hammerhead13

    hammerhead13 Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,272
    Likes Received:
    523
    Trophy Points:
    268
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +612
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Galaxy Note8
    Thats just it. We will finally get Root right before we get the Lollipop 5.1 Update then Lose it again. I really miss Root. This will be nice.
     
  8. hammerhead13

    hammerhead13 Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,272
    Likes Received:
    523
    Trophy Points:
    268
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +612
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Galaxy Note8
    Has anyone tried following this on their own Droid Turbo?
     
  9. kodiak799

    kodiak799 Gold Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    6,009
    Likes Received:
    775
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Ratings:
    +942
    I'm a little hazy on my flashing...but I think if you are rooted you'll be able to flash a rooted 5.1 (assuming they can root that), it's just the kernel that can't be changed with a locked bootloader.

    I think what I read was stock 5.1 has little chance of being rooted, so if you roll the VZW update push you'll be SOL.

    And the South America version (Droid Maxx?) has been rooted for a while, but no bootloader exploit I don't think.
     
  10. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,806
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,290
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    Well I'm willing to give it a whirl later tonight, if there is instructions in or accompanying the video or on another channel... ;-)
     
  11. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,806
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,290
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    OK, the list of commands is all up there, just have to transpose them. Then I can run ADB shell and push them like he did.
     
  12. 94lt1

    94lt1 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    17,150
    Likes Received:
    4,040
    Trophy Points:
    1,138
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +4,530
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2
    My only need or want for root would be the hotspot exploit. That's just me..
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
Search tags for this page

linux permissions chart

,

temproot access droid turbo

,

verizon droid turbo rooted