Verizon Doesn't Multi-Task?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by rebornlaxer, Jan 17, 2010.

  1. rebornlaxer

    rebornlaxer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    So you've all probably seen those AT&T commercials bragging about how they can talk and browse the web at the same time. I honestly don't think that it is that great because I have never had to do that. But I am wondering why we can't Verizon talk and browse the web at the same time?
    Thank you
     
  2. Vulcan1600

    Vulcan1600 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,846
    Likes Received:
    282
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +292
    There's many, many threads about this. Bottom line is it can be done on GSM but cannot be done on the CDMA network unless you are using wifi. And you hit the nail on the head, how many times did you really ever have the urge to talk and surf at the same time on your cell phone.
     
  3. jimnutt

    jimnutt Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Morrisville, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's a limitation of CDMA technology, the phone switches back to 2G to make a voice call (or to send a text message for that matter). On the other hand, it's still not difficult to do, just install SIPDroid and user VOIP (Voice Over IP) for your phone calls, then you can browse at the same time. Of course, unless you're using a headset it's not terribly practical anyway.
     
  4. rebornlaxer

    rebornlaxer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    K thanks for the response. I think that AT&T is desperate and any flaw that they find with Verizon, they rant on and on about it. Hahaha
     
  5. CatsvsDogs

    CatsvsDogs Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Washington State
    Ratings:
    +0
    *Edit* Yeah what MK17 said..

    Have you tried to do it?
     
    #5 CatsvsDogs, Jan 17, 2010
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2010
  6. MK17

    MK17 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    *Edit*

    Question already answered... I'm slow
     
  7. Vulcan1600

    Vulcan1600 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,846
    Likes Received:
    282
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +292
  8. mjs31

    mjs31 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    NE Texas
    Ratings:
    +0

    My favorite is still the "Whats the capital of Peru" one from AT&T. Luke Wilson gets the call from the game show asking this question. Hits about 2 keys on his blackberry and immediately the capital of Peru is shown in the browser....Just name the ways that this is so wrong!!!! From the BB browser speed, to the limited button pushes.
    It is now becoming painful to see these stupid commercials with Wilson in them.
     
  9. MarkDF

    MarkDF Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have had a legitimate occasion to do this. I was talking with my son, and he was asking for a phone number or directions or something, and I had to hang up, surf the answer, and call him back. Not too inconvenient. I'd rank the simultaneous web/phone as nice to have, but not a reason to switch.

    If I had been at home, of course, I could have done both with wifi and phone, but I was out of the house.
     
  10. JhankG

    JhankG Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    Another one?
     
  11. apeshitninja

    apeshitninja Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    They are getting pretty painful....I want to yell at the TV. AT&T is desperate, they are comparing situations that will not affect 99% of the population and acting like it's a major deal. Plus with the "talk and surf" argument, they are completely ignoring the fact that Verizon's coverage is much better. Sure you can download Luke Wilson faster on AT&T, if you're within 200ft of one of their 3G towers....
     
  12. Jim 777

    Jim 777 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,307
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +34
    I also have yet to have a need for data and voice at the same time.

    With your statement above, does using GV fall under VOIP allowing you to surf too?
     
Search tags for this page
can galaxy s5 multitask onverizon
,
can you multi task on droid turbo verizon
,
can you multitask on a verizon network?
,
can you multitask on the verizon moto x
,

can you multitask on verizon

,
can you multitask on verizon phones
,
multitask on verizon network
,
multitasking on verizon android
,
verizon talk and surf android
,
why can't you multitask on verizon