1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Verizon 3G sucks now.

Discussion in 'Droid X FAQ' started by Droid annoymous, Apr 24, 2011.

  1. Droid annoymous
    Offline

    Droid annoymous New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,097
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My droid x is constantly losing signal its getting ridiculus. Everytime I open df app or email or fb it goes to 1x. I try to update roaming capibilities still have the issue and I usually use to get good service.

    Swyped from the best phone in verizon's line up.
  2. Jazzbone
    Offline

    Jazzbone New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm having the exact same problem... it started getting worse a month ago.. i get 1x more than I get 3G... I'm looking at 1X as I type this.
  3. Droid annoymous
    Offline

    Droid annoymous New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,097
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Alittle quick fix I found was to enable airplane mode then shut it off. I think 3G sucks now because the new iphone users on verizon and this 4G network stuff.

    Swyped from the best phone in verizon's line up.
  4. Jazzbone
    Offline

    Jazzbone New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yep. I do the airplane mode thing. (Toggle widget) and it works until I start surfing or use Pandora. This sucks.
  5. Lostcase
    Offline

    Lostcase New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've noticed this before as well. For a month now..I've been doing the airplane mode trick.

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums
  6. jgimondo
    Offline

    jgimondo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Same here... I was assuming it was the barrage of iPhone users, which is annoying...
  7. Graymayre
    Offline

    Graymayre New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    upstate NY
    On Motorola phones, go to your dialer:
    *#*#4636#*#*
    You will go to the phones testing menus,
    Phone Status (I think, top one eitherway)
    Go down to where you can select the bands, you can select WCDMA Preferred (where it tries to stay on 3G as much as it can, WCDMA=3G) or WCDMA only. This usually resets, but if you go into it alot, it can be pretty fast.


    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  8. Darth8ball
    Offline

    Darth8ball New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern NJ
    Yeah, thanks Graymayre that seems to work.
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 5, 2011
  9. Graymayre
    Offline

    Graymayre New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    upstate NY
    No problem. I got my wife the iPhone 4. Works better on Verizon anyway.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  10. redbert31
    Offline

    redbert31 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi graymayre, I have a droid x that is going on to 1x and getting really slow too and I can't get on to all the radio stations on the west coast that I always have been able to for months. Will that method you use on the dialer work for a droid x also (you said you were using a d2 think)?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  11. Droid annoymous
    Offline

    Droid annoymous New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,097
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    it should work.

    Swyped from the best phone in verizon's line up.
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2011
  12. Graymayre
    Offline

    Graymayre New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    upstate NY
    Try it.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  13. Jazzbone
    Offline

    Jazzbone New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you Graymayre! This seems to be helping my DX stay in 3G...
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2011
  14. redbert31
    Offline

    redbert31 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks...I tried it and it seems to be working better!
  15. Palazuelosva
    Offline

    Palazuelosva New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles CA.
    I did the wcmda prefered and now I have no signal or service at all! And it doesn't want to change back to cmda

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  16. towelyey
    Offline

    towelyey New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    50th.. Phone has been struggling the last couple months. I run a different ROM every couple weeks so the blame can't be placed there. I'm running the latest PRL for the area. The most frustrating issue for me is the calls "placing" and watching the timer rack up 15-30 seconds with no verbal connection. Terminate the call, reconnect and bam it works..
  17. Joneser2006
    Offline

    Joneser2006 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I thought it was just local because the Alltel carrier is switching to AT&T and the towers were getting switched from CDMA to GSM. Oh well, my mistake.

    I've used the airplane mode thing, but will be trying the method listed above.
  18. phillybizzle
    Offline

    phillybizzle New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    I can't get my DX to switch, it's constantly on CDMA auto PLR
  19. seanubis
    Offline

    seanubis New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Been having 3G issues here too, in southwestern New Mexico, on all of my VZW devices (DX, BB 9650, and MiFi 2200).

    VZW used to be rock solid out here - seriously, I once had 3 bars and 2Mbps of 3G goodness, 10 yards inside of a friggin' mine shaft.

    Lately though, I can't get 3G even if I stand on my roof and genuflect towards the tower.

    It got really bad a couple of weeks ago. Called VZW support and they put me on a different CDMA SID. That seemed to solve the problem for a while, but yesterday I was back to 1x (and even no-x) for most of the day. CDMA SID had not reverted to its old setting, so I'm almost positive that this isn not an issue with my devices.

    Then suddenly around 7pm, just as I was about to call VZW again (on VOIP of course, since I had no signal) BAM, 3G and full bars came back up and it's been that way ever since. :\

    Anybody else having days like this?
  20. jerryq2
    Offline

    jerryq2 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado Springs Colorado
    same issue here in Colorado Springs

    For the last few months i have noticed very slow speeds. I dont know if anyone else has notices but everytime my phone detects wifi it looses 3g and i have to turn on wifi. i can no longer watch netflix or youtube without it buffering.
Search tags for this page

3g sucks

,
3g verizon network sucks
,
does 3g suck
,
iphone verizon sucks
,
my verizon service sucks
,

verizon 3g sucks

,
verizon network sucks
,
verizon wireless 3g sucks
,
why does 3g suck
,
why does my 3g suck
,
why does my verizon service suck
,
why does verizon 3g suck
,
why does verizon 3g suck?
,
why is 3g service on verizon getting worse?
,
why is my verizon service getting worse