Vcast Media Manager

Discussion in 'Droid Incredible Hacks' started by RuLEoF2, Sep 18, 2010.

  1. RuLEoF2

    RuLEoF2 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    Ratings:
    +1
    PLEASE HELP! I'm losing it here!

    Every time I plug my phone in to my PC, it hijacks internet explorer (running or not) and goes to the Vcast Media Manager mad-ware page where it plays some stupid video about how great it is.

    I have the audio from the first three seconds of that damn ad stuck in my head because I've only been forced to listen to it about 30 times.

    Its flat-out MALWARE!!

    I just rooted. PLEASE... tell me how I can get this rid of it?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 18, 2010
  2. Abe21599

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +30
    Haha that's not a virus its supposed to do that..

    Sent from my phone... which happens to be a Droid X
     
  3. mac6324

    mac6324 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Buy root explorer from market. Open Root Explorer >mount R / W >select etc > long press CDROM.ISO > rename > CDROM.ISO.bak > Mount R /O , back out of app. Problem solved.
     
  4. RuLEoF2

    RuLEoF2 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    Ratings:
    +1
    Ok... maybe not a virus, but mad-ware for sure. Either way, its gotta go.

    Someone out there has to have a bullet for this.

    Please... anyone?
     
  5. RuLEoF2

    RuLEoF2 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    Ratings:
    +1
    Root explorer... I'll take it.

    Thanks!
     
  6. littlerick

    littlerick Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    how about click on the m symbol and click do nothing when you hook up your device
     
  7. mac6324

    mac6324 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    No M symbol, this is a HTC Device, not Motorola. And no matter what you do it starts up and launches a web page selling Verizon crap until you delete the program or rename it.
     
  8. littlerick

    littlerick Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    sorry is there a way to disable it with the drivers?
     
  9. moracca

    moracca New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dial ##7764726
    Hit Call
    Type Password 000000
    Hit Feature Settings
    Choose CD ROM
    Hit Disable
    Hit menu, commit modifications


    no rooting necessary.
     
  10. RuLEoF2

    RuLEoF2 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    Ratings:
    +1
    Moracca

    That's cool! What is that menu called and are there others like it?

    I'll do so and try it out later today.

    Thanks!
     
  11. moracca

    moracca New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm not really sure. I would imagine there are more secret menus, but I don't know how to access them. There are however some more options available in this menu other than turning off the cdrom image. I haven't played around with it much. I only found out about this one while searching for a resolution to pdanet not working after the update. The vcast popup was interfering with my ability to connect to pdanet, I was getting a 'usb connection dropped' message. I looked on pdanet's website for a fix, and found it here:
    PdaNet for Android FAQ
     
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2010
  12. RuLEoF2

    RuLEoF2 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    Ratings:
    +1
    OK. Thanks.
     
Search tags for this page
cast media manager usb for droid
,
do you have to sign in for v cast media manager to work on android
,
pdanet usb connection dropped code 1
,
v cast media manager removal
,
vcast
,

vcast media manager review

,
vcast media manager virus
,
vcast virus