Using VZW in Thailand and SE Asia

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by NascarFan29, Sep 14, 2010.

  1. NascarFan29

    NascarFan29 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know there have been other threads about this but I cant find a definitive answer so I offer my question up to the general discussion board for help.

    I have a crappy slow Eris 2.1 that is the laggiest, slowest droid ever. That being said I am moving to Thailand for 7 months starting next Monday. I had planned on buying a phone over there but have decided it might be risky. I want to be able to use my phone or any phone with the android system I have grown accustomed to.

    Some say VZW CDMA phones will roam in thailand and others say no. VZW phone reps give me a bunch of circular answers that lead to nowhere except that roaming is EXPENSIVE in other countries.

    So.. Any advice?

    Thanks.
     
  2. takeshi

    takeshi Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't know why "definitive answers" are really needed. Bookmark the tools to do the research. IIRC GSM World had this info. You could look up the carriers in any country in the world, their networks, frequencies, etc.

    Also, in general, when asking your carrier about international use, make sure you specifically ask for your carrier's international support group. If that rep can't answer your question specifically then call back and try another. They have to know this information. They know who they have roaming agreements with.
     
    #2 takeshi, Sep 14, 2010
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2010
  3. takeshi

    takeshi Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    Here ya go:
    GSM Coverage Maps

    I don't see a single CDMA carrier in Thailand. In general, CDMA is very rare outside the US and even when you do find it outside the US it may not be compatible.
     
  4. NascarFan29

    NascarFan29 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    bump.. dancedroid
     
  5. smilepak

    smilepak Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    It is possible, but pricey because it would be considered as roaming. So the fee will be crazy. You will have to call VZW and tell them you will be travel to "X" country for them to activate the service there.

    I would recommend

    1) Buy a GSM pre-paid phone here and replace the sim once you get to Thailand
    2) Buy a cheap GSM pone and buy a pre-paid sim in Thailand
     
  6. harrellj

    harrellj Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,058
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +2
    The only other option, if you're absolutely determined to use your Eris overseas, is to put it into Airplane mode while there and turn on wi-fi only for data (and have some sort of wireless router to go with). For calls/texts, get a cheap phone and a pre-paid sim.
     
  7. NascarFan29

    NascarFan29 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you I will just buy a droid aria and unlock it.
     
Search tags for this page
can i use my android phone in thailand
,
can i use my droid charge phone in thailand
,
can i use my samsung phone from canada in thailand
,
can i use my verizion smart phone in thailand
,

can i use my verizon phone in thailand

,
using a verizon phone in thailand
,
using a verizon samsung s4 in thailand
,
using my verizon phone in thailand
,
verizon thailand rates
,
verizon thailand roaming