using upgrade while grandfathered

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by jwilly216, Sep 16, 2012.

  1. bnpdp

    bnpdp Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +10
    Current Phone Model:
    God's Phone aka Nexus 6
    Only adding this as a question because I don't know....

    Doesn't Verizon technically own the phone for the contract time because it is subsidized? I could see his mom being able to switch phones because she "owns" one of them, but wouldn't the system recognize the new phone on his line that he hasn't renewed and not allow it since technically it has not been paid for in full until the contract has been fulfilled? Isn't this the reason to pay full price for the phone?
     
  2. kijutsu

    kijutsu Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Allen Park, MI
    Ratings:
    +0
    I did a similar thing with my Xoom tablet. I had an OG GalaxyTab that was losing its mind, so I bought a Xoom off Swappa, took it up to a VZW Direct store, they installed a new sim and activated it on my 3gig plan from some two years ago without any contract changes.

    in short.. .3g to 4g data plan without contract changes.
     
  3. Bishang

    Bishang Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nope. Never heard that before.

    Sent from my Samsung Galaxy S3 on Tapatalk 2
     
  4. jwilly216

    jwilly216 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    I'm at Verizon. I came in and asked to get a micro Sim for a RAZR i got on craigslist so i would have it without them knowing i was gonna switch it into the s3 but they said they can't just give you a Sim card they have to activate it to a phone so now I'm waiting to see if they can do the upgrade on my ma's line and then give me a micro Sim for the s3
    ...all without losing my unlimited data
     
  5. TisMyDroid

    TisMyDroid Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6,435
    Likes Received:
    2,021
    Trophy Points:
    493
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +2,264
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Note 3
    Oh, they are so full of it. They don't need to activate it for you. All you need to tell them is you need a sim card because you would like to activate a phone you will be putting on your line, that you are capable of doing the activation yourself, and that rather than having to make another separate trip into Verizon, you want to be able to activate it as soon as able. You could even let them know that you plan to move the phone from your mom's line to yours and that is within their policies.

    Myself, I have no problem telling them politely what my plans are... it gives me an opportunity to explain that I plan to do everything I can to maintain my unlimited.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx using Droid Forums
     
  6. jwilly216

    jwilly216 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    She looked at me like i was stupid and laughed n was like haha we can't just HAND you a Sim! You have to bring in the phone.
    Then i waited there for over a half hour and was never assisted so i just left. I'm gonna try to find another store nearby cause those people are dumb. All i wanna do is spend a few hundred bucks ni can't get them to take my money
     
  7. Beka27

    Beka27 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,458
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    Ratings:
    +6
    Why don't you just order the phone online, activate it on your mother's line, unactivate it, and then put it on yours?
     
  8. BKiv

    BKiv Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    HP, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    The last time I did that they said it had to be on the first phone number for three days.
     
  9. TisMyDroid

    TisMyDroid Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6,435
    Likes Received:
    2,021
    Trophy Points:
    493
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +2,264
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Note 3
    Yeah, they told me that the contract on the line should be immediately updated as soon as the phone is activated on that line but that I could check my account online to make doubly sure that the contract was updated on the tiered line before switching the phone.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx using Droid Forums
     
  10. TisMyDroid

    TisMyDroid Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6,435
    Likes Received:
    2,021
    Trophy Points:
    493
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +2,264
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Note 3
    Jwilly, go into the Verizon store, buy the s3 on your mother's line, tell Verizon that you need a spare sim because you will be eventually transferring the s3 to your line. Let them know that you have already checked to make sure this is possible and that the reason you are doing it this way is because it is the only way Verizon allows you to take advantage of the new every two while keeping your unlimited data.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx using Droid Forums
     
  11. npro1464

    npro1464 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NJ
    Ratings:
    +8
    At this point I would switch carriers, or contact VZ customer support and complain about the service I'm receiving at this particular location you keep going back to. Like everyone here said, call VZ directly and don't go through this location. However, since they're jerking you around so much, wouldn't it feel nice to move over to Sprint/T-Mo/or a pre-paid and pay less, keep unlimited and be able to upgrade in the future without fear of losing unlimited?
     
  12. jwilly216

    jwilly216 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    I got my s3 :) thanks for all your support
    I got my s3 and kept my unlimited data! I found a loophole so now I can Use upgrades whenever I want
     
    #48 jwilly216, Sep 24, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2012
Search tags for this page
galaxy s3 alternate upgrade
,
upgrading to s4 what to do change plans
,

verizon upgrade loopholes