using upgrade while grandfathered

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by jwilly216, Sep 16, 2012.

  1. Bishang
    Offline

    Bishang Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    To be safe, activate it on her line first.

    Sent from my Samsung Galaxy S3 on Tapatalk 2
     
  2. jwilly216
    Offline

    jwilly216 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    I will thanks.
    I'm gonna try this tomorrow! Omg i do hope it works correctly. After how long can i stick my Sim card inside and have it working?
     
  3. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,451
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +353
    Yes, Verizon was very specific with me that it must be first activated on the tiered line, that will then renew her contract for two years and then after it has been activated on her line and it activates her new contract, then it can be switched to any line without renewing or changing the contract.

    Sent from my AT100 using Droid Forums
     
  4. Mike.757
    Offline

    Mike.757 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    2,646
    Likes Received:
    94
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Virginia Beach
    Ratings:
    +98
    It's immediate. I switch between my Bionic and a Rezound quite a bit and all I do is swap the sim card. I never had any problems.
     
  5. Bishang
    Offline

    Bishang Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's because all you're doing is switching between phones on your line. He would need a micro SIM to already be activated on their line for that to happen. But they would still needed to activate the phone on their mom's line first.

    Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2
     
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2012
  6. elitecmdr666
    Offline

    elitecmdr666 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    glad i saw this cause i was going to ask the same thing, right now i have 5 device 3 which are on hold cause the bill is crazy overpriced and well i dont know what to do, does not help im disabled and on a limited income so i struggle just to keep this bill up hence i frooze 3 account. im due for upgrade but have not done so cause i know that no matter what i will lose my unlimited data, which to me makes no sense in sharing a pool of data at vzw crazy prices. i been with vzw since i came back from iraq and i admit by far the best service i can get has been with them. but now i just dont know what to do no more...and i just dont know whats important having a sg3 4g lte with just 2g to share which is what i can afford know that with the lte speed will be faster and better im just going to use more date and then get overages or just jumping ship to tmobile to where i would pay way less that what im paying now with vzw. not to mention all my issues in the past with lock bootloaders does not make me that much happy to include sg3. im just lost at this point and well have talked to many people and they just dont care about tech, data or phones...any input is welcomed thanks in advance...
     
  7. bnpdp
    Offline

    bnpdp Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    Current Phone Model:
    Soon to be Nexus 6!
    Only adding this as a question because I don't know....

    Doesn't Verizon technically own the phone for the contract time because it is subsidized? I could see his mom being able to switch phones because she "owns" one of them, but wouldn't the system recognize the new phone on his line that he hasn't renewed and not allow it since technically it has not been paid for in full until the contract has been fulfilled? Isn't this the reason to pay full price for the phone?
     
  8. kijutsu
    Offline

    kijutsu Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Allen Park, MI
    Ratings:
    +0
    I did a similar thing with my Xoom tablet. I had an OG GalaxyTab that was losing its mind, so I bought a Xoom off Swappa, took it up to a VZW Direct store, they installed a new sim and activated it on my 3gig plan from some two years ago without any contract changes.

    in short.. .3g to 4g data plan without contract changes.
     
  9. Bishang
    Offline

    Bishang Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nope. Never heard that before.

    Sent from my Samsung Galaxy S3 on Tapatalk 2
     
  10. jwilly216
    Offline

    jwilly216 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    I'm at Verizon. I came in and asked to get a micro Sim for a RAZR i got on craigslist so i would have it without them knowing i was gonna switch it into the s3 but they said they can't just give you a Sim card they have to activate it to a phone so now I'm waiting to see if they can do the upgrade on my ma's line and then give me a micro Sim for the s3
    ...all without losing my unlimited data
     
  11. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,451
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +353
    Oh, they are so full of it. They don't need to activate it for you. All you need to tell them is you need a sim card because you would like to activate a phone you will be putting on your line, that you are capable of doing the activation yourself, and that rather than having to make another separate trip into Verizon, you want to be able to activate it as soon as able. You could even let them know that you plan to move the phone from your mom's line to yours and that is within their policies.

    Myself, I have no problem telling them politely what my plans are... it gives me an opportunity to explain that I plan to do everything I can to maintain my unlimited.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx using Droid Forums
     
  12. jwilly216
    Offline

    jwilly216 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    She looked at me like i was stupid and laughed n was like haha we can't just HAND you a Sim! You have to bring in the phone.
    Then i waited there for over a half hour and was never assisted so i just left. I'm gonna try to find another store nearby cause those people are dumb. All i wanna do is spend a few hundred bucks ni can't get them to take my money
     
  13. Beka27
    Offline

    Beka27 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,458
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    Ratings:
    +6
    Why don't you just order the phone online, activate it on your mother's line, unactivate it, and then put it on yours?
     
  14. BKiv
    Offline

    BKiv Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    HP, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    The last time I did that they said it had to be on the first phone number for three days.
     
  15. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,451
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +353
    Yeah, they told me that the contract on the line should be immediately updated as soon as the phone is activated on that line but that I could check my account online to make doubly sure that the contract was updated on the tiered line before switching the phone.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx using Droid Forums
     
Search tags for this page
galaxy s3 alternate upgrade
,
upgrading to s4 what to do change plans
,

verizon upgrade loopholes