using upgrade while grandfathered

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by jwilly216, Sep 16, 2012.

  1. Versatile1

    Versatile1 Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +12
    Exactly...

    [​IMG]

     
  2. jwilly216

    jwilly216 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Tech support just confirmed to me that after my mom activated her old phone the Sim on the s3 would reset so i just go online and activate that phone to my line n it becomes my Sim
    Plus i keep unlimited data....
     
  3. TisMyDroid

    TisMyDroid Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6,243
    Likes Received:
    1,789
    Trophy Points:
    393
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +2,004
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Note 3
    I think that sim would be associated with her phone number. But all you have to do is get a free sim from a Verizon store and you can activate the s3 on your number and from what I was told be Verizon, as long as the s3 is first activated on your mom's line, you can move the phone to any line you want without it changing your unlimited data.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx using Droid Forums
     
  4. jwilly216

    jwilly216 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    So tomorrow i will use the alternate upgrade to buy my ma the galaxy s3, then I'll switch her back to her old phone
    Meanwhile I'll ask for a micro Sim so then i can just pop that into the s3....
    all while keeping unlimited data?
     
  5. Bishang

    Bishang Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, exactly it.

    Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2
     
  6. jwilly216

    jwilly216 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    How confident are you? What are the chances I'll be posting about how they accidentally let the system update me to the shared everything plan and i lost my unlimited n need to cancel my contract but i just freaking renewed it for two years

    THAT WOULD MAKE ME SLIT MY WRISTS.
    also- do i have to activate the s3 on my moms line and then switch her back to her old phone or could i just never even have it activated on her line & then just stick in my Sim????
    Thanks friends
     
  7. Bishang

    Bishang Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    To be safe, activate it on her line first.

    Sent from my Samsung Galaxy S3 on Tapatalk 2
     
  8. jwilly216

    jwilly216 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    I will thanks.
    I'm gonna try this tomorrow! Omg i do hope it works correctly. After how long can i stick my Sim card inside and have it working?
     
  9. TisMyDroid

    TisMyDroid Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6,243
    Likes Received:
    1,789
    Trophy Points:
    393
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +2,004
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Note 3
    Yes, Verizon was very specific with me that it must be first activated on the tiered line, that will then renew her contract for two years and then after it has been activated on her line and it activates her new contract, then it can be switched to any line without renewing or changing the contract.

    Sent from my AT100 using Droid Forums
     
  10. Mike.757

    Mike.757 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    3,135
    Likes Received:
    457
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Virginia Beach
    Ratings:
    +471
    It's immediate. I switch between my Bionic and a Rezound quite a bit and all I do is swap the sim card. I never had any problems.
     
  11. Bishang

    Bishang Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's because all you're doing is switching between phones on your line. He would need a micro SIM to already be activated on their line for that to happen. But they would still needed to activate the phone on their mom's line first.

    Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2
     
    #35 Bishang, Sep 23, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2012
  12. elitecmdr666

    elitecmdr666 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    glad i saw this cause i was going to ask the same thing, right now i have 5 device 3 which are on hold cause the bill is crazy overpriced and well i dont know what to do, does not help im disabled and on a limited income so i struggle just to keep this bill up hence i frooze 3 account. im due for upgrade but have not done so cause i know that no matter what i will lose my unlimited data, which to me makes no sense in sharing a pool of data at vzw crazy prices. i been with vzw since i came back from iraq and i admit by far the best service i can get has been with them. but now i just dont know what to do no more...and i just dont know whats important having a sg3 4g lte with just 2g to share which is what i can afford know that with the lte speed will be faster and better im just going to use more date and then get overages or just jumping ship to tmobile to where i would pay way less that what im paying now with vzw. not to mention all my issues in the past with lock bootloaders does not make me that much happy to include sg3. im just lost at this point and well have talked to many people and they just dont care about tech, data or phones...any input is welcomed thanks in advance...
     
Search tags for this page
galaxy s3 alternate upgrade
,
upgrading to s4 what to do change plans
,

verizon upgrade loopholes