1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Using predictive text w/ hardware keyboard [root]

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by WhiskeySix, Dec 9, 2009.

  1. WhiskeySix
    Offline

    WhiskeySix New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So now that we have root access, is it possible to get predictive text / autocorrection for the hardware QWERTY keyboard on droid?

    I'm using the HTC_IME for this purpose, but don't like it too much. Is it possible to get the 2.0.1 keyboard/prediction to work with the HW qwerty?
  2. brianr0131
    Offline

    brianr0131 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cherry Hill, NJ
    Good question there
  3. Polymira
    Offline

    Polymira New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chico, Ca
    Likely is my number one feature I'm wanting out of my droid.
  4. Big Lou
    Offline

    Big Lou New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    739
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    As with many of these questions, it may be possible but we don't know yet until custom roms are released.
  5. WhiskeySix
    Offline

    WhiskeySix New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    so bump then?
  6. sethmo
    Offline

    sethmo Guest

    I like the HTC_IME keyboard, but it doesnt stretch across the screen in landscape and in portrait, the predictive text covers the text box. Did you find a way around these?
  7. Berzerker
    Offline

    Berzerker New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Autocorrection works fine on the hardware keyboard, there's just no predictive text.
  8. Mojo
    Offline

    Mojo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    S.W Missouri
  9. p0rk burn
    Offline

    p0rk burn New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  10. WhiskeySix
    Offline

    WhiskeySix New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It does auto punctuation (apostrophes) and auto capitalization,but it does not correct spelling/typos.

    Exactly... what's the equivalent apk for Droid, basically? ...and can it be likewise edited to take input from the hardware keyboard?
  11. Berzerker
    Offline

    Berzerker New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's what I meant.
  12. WhiskeySix
    Offline

    WhiskeySix New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
Search tags for this page

android hardware keyboard predictive text

,
hardware keyboard predictive text
,
how to get predictive text for hardware keyboar in android
,
predictive text for phones with hardware keyboard
,
predictive text qwerty keypad android
,
predictive text with hard keyboard