Using phone as hotspot on VZW

IIGood

Silver Member
Reaction score
Current Phone Model
Galaxy S6
Does Verizon not charge anymore for using your phone as a hotspot? I recall not too long ago, they were charing an extra $30/mo. for that feature. Have they finally wised up?

I've never used the feature before as I never had a need for it, and if I ever would have, I certainly didn't want to pay Verizon more for it. And this was before they allowed FoxFi and such to be installed. I know now it can be installed, but I'm just now noticing that there's nothing written anywhere anymore regarding a fee for it.

Am I correct?

Mustang02

Diamond Member
Reaction score
Current Phone Model
Nexus 6P/5X
It was only for unlimited data plans. The paid tiered data plans can't charge for it per FCC, so Verizon included hotspot for "FREE" for the consumer.

OP
IIGood

IIGood

Silver Member
Reaction score
Current Phone Model
Galaxy S6
Thanks, that makes sense. I guess I was on the UDP for so long that I completely ignored the tiered plan "rules."

Mustang02

Diamond Member
Reaction score
Current Phone Model
Nexus 6P/5X
Any plan that had limited minutes had to pay for hotspot, not just unlimited

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
What does the minutes have to do with data? That's strange.

OP
IIGood

IIGood

Silver Member
Reaction score
Current Phone Model
Galaxy S6
Okay...so, currently, VZW does *not* charge for hotspot usage if you have one of the latest tiered data plans and the unlimited text/minutes?