Using PdaNet to play Xbox Live!!

Discussion in 'Android Applications Discussions' started by Big Lou, Dec 12, 2009.

  1. Big Lou

    Big Lou Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    733
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay, so last night I wanted to test out the PdaNet tethering application. First, I tried a simple test to see if it's possible to game on 3G. I booted up TF2 on Steam while also connected to Ventrilo...

    I had 25 ping in game! Unbelievable!

    So... then I wanted to take it further. I decided to use my laptop as a bridge and connected my Xbox 360 to it. I used PdaNet to connect my 3G internet to the laptop and through it to the 360. Needless to say, I was able to play Halo 3 on Xbox Live with minimal lag!

    Wow, so many great things to say about this. First, PdaNet is a wonderful app! Secondly, Verizon has a kick ass data network!
     
  2. Jason

    Jason Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Salinas, California
    Ratings:
    +0
    Was this using the free version?
     
  3. Big Lou

    Big Lou Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    733
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes. Just the trial.

    As far as I know, the trial is 100% unrestricted. And beyond the trial, you are still free to use it for non-https sites.
     
  4. Jason

    Jason Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Salinas, California
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you try to use it beyond the trial would it still work to play online for ps3 or Xbox live
     
  5. Big Lou

    Big Lou Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    733
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't know, to be honest. All I know is that the expired trial can access non-secure web servers. I don't know what Xbox Live would be considered.
     
  6. Jason

    Jason Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Salinas, California
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yea because I have a ps3 and it would be awesome if I can use it to play online when I travel
     
  7. mcquart38

    mcquart38 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    How

    How do you do this after you get PDA net? Like the step up from the phone, to the comp, to the Xbox?? Do you just plug it in?? thanks!! Sean
     
  8. thericksonebay

    Ratings:
    +0
    I use pda net tethered on my win 7 laptop. with the new option win7 has that it can use the onboard wifi and turn it into a wifi hotspot. Then i connect my ps3 to te hotspot and it works i have minumal lag to noe some times. The only issue i have is that it disconnects somtimes for no reason. Another thing i notived is that when your connect to modern warfare 2 on the ps3 it only uses about 5 mb per gme that is very little
     
  9. Big Lou

    Big Lou Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    733
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, as Rick has stated, you can simply share your onboard wireless. What I did was share the internet through ethernet, as it's a more reliable and faster connection; but either way will work.
     
  10. titans

    titans Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,662
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    Big lou, if you wouldn't mind, could you please type instructions for tech newbies on how to do this? Thanks
     
  11. Switchback

    Switchback Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Buffalo NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can see this racking up your Data Usage. Just be careful about tethering since Verizon does keep an eye on that.
     
  12. fluc02

    fluc02 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's probably an extraordinarily bad idea to do this over 3G. Data traffic is very heavy when playing a multiplayer game and it would be very, very easy for them to tell what you're doing (using pdanet is against verizon's ToS, if you weren't aware)
     
Search tags for this page
how to connect pdanet to xbox 360
,
how to use pdanet for xbox live
,
how to use pdanet on xbox 360
,
pdanet for xbox
,
pdanet for xbox 360
,
pdanet to xbox
,

pdanet xbox

,

pdanet xbox 360

,

pdanet xbox live

,
using pdanet for xbox live