Using droid 2.2 frg83d

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Abkelley, Jan 25, 2011.

  1. Abkelley

    Abkelley New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Please help new to this hacking... was wondering if I an able to root my phone with an app... or will I have to use a desk top... thank you

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  2. titans1

    titans1 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +0
    you will need to use an app. there are a couple one button apps out there search the site a little...they are there.
     
  3. Abkelley

    Abkelley New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes I used easy root and z4root both didn't work.. can you help please

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  4. titans1

    titans1 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +0
    hmmm sounds like you will need to do it the long hard way....give me a few minutes to find all the files....make sure your phone is charged all the way up as far as it can:)
     
  5. Abkelley

    Abkelley New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok.. its charging

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  6. titans1

    titans1 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +0
  7. Abkelley

    Abkelley New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I'm goin to need a desktop to root my phone

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  8. dasanman69

    dasanman69 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
  9. adsfa34

    adsfa34 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    +1 SuperOneClick is the only proven *one-click* method to root 2.2.1 (FRG83D) for the Droid 1. The SBF method will "always" work (disputable bc RSDLite is finicky...), regardless of what OS you're running (hence the thread title), but the risk of doing some serious damage to your phone is significantly higher.

    Try SuperOneClick *FIRST*, and if it doesn't work for some reason, THEN use the SBF method. That way you're not taking any "unnecessary" risk.
     
  10. Abkelley

    Abkelley New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I tried super one click... I went through the process... but after pressing root... when the program is done it says... getting mount path.... I don't think it worked... I restarted my phone.... too

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  11. Abkelley

    Abkelley New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can someone give me advice

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForu
     
  12. dasanman69

    dasanman69 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did u check for root when superoneclick was done? Try it again. Read the instructions carefully. You should have superuser installed. You can also get root checker from the market