Using Dinc as modem w/o rooting?

Discussion in 'HTC Droid Incredible' started by shadow man, Aug 3, 2010.

  1. shadow man

    shadow man Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    My apologies if this has been covered (even did a search), but how do I set up my pc and Dinc to use the mobile broadband? I don't know if I'm trying to wifi tether, and I don't want to pay $20 a month for something I'll only need once in a while. I'm also pretty leery about rooting my 2 week old phone, as I'm not that tech savvy based on the language I see to describe the process, and I think I'd want the ota's when they come.
     
  2. Bxrider117

    Bxrider117 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Back in NYC 4 good!!!
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think the only way that you can get wifi tethering is through rooting your Dinc. The process may seem a bit scary. Only take the step if you feel comfortable. I think there may be a program that you can down load that offers the ability to root your phone with a click of a button. You will have to search for it, but I may be wrong. It might not be available for the Dinc. Other than that you will have to pay the fee to Verizon.
     
  3. Bxrider117

    Bxrider117 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Back in NYC 4 good!!!
    Ratings:
    +0
  4. shadow man

    shadow man Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah...looking into it.
     
  5. ezrider55

    ezrider55 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston
    Ratings:
    +5
    Current Phone Model:
    LG G4
    Search For

    Pdanet :) I don't use it :wink: but I here it works.
     
  6. shadow man

    shadow man Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I actually went with easy tether. I'm more then willing to use my usb for now, and am actually kind of glad I was able to use that rather then root...at this point anyway.
     
  7. lizm

    lizm New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I use PDANet, works like a charm.
     
  8. cgaliffi

    cgaliffi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Hartford, CT
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just to let you know in regards to Vz charging $20 a month for the 2gb- it's prorated. I've used it numerous times with both my DINC and BB S2 and would just activate it for a day and would only be charged about (.60-.70 cents for about 60-70megs on my DINC) and about ($1.00 on my S2 for about 160megs) Vz will even shut it off at the end of the day so you don't need to call back. It has worked great for me. Just my 2 cents. :)
     
  9. shadow man

    shadow man Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was pretty satisfied with the easy tether, but this morning I got inspired and just went ahead and rooted, and now have the wifi enabled, and got a refund on easy tether. I'm hoping the wifi isn't the slower option, but does it really matter?
     
Search tags for this page

setup dinc2 as modem