Use your Droid for IRC?

Discussion in 'Android Applications Discussions' started by radioz, Jan 17, 2010.

  1. radioz

    radioz Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Oregon
    Ratings:
    +0
    Has anyone tried using their Droid for IRC (internet relay chat)?

    If so, what application do you use? How well does it work?
     
  2. radsaq

    radsaq Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    AndChat works well, and has a reasonable feature set.
     
  3. NVash

    NVash Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can you download files off IRC using that as well?
     
  4. billyidle

    billyidle Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Flint, MI
    Ratings:
    +0
    I haven't tried or seen anything with DCC sends or anything, so I'm not sure on file sharing. AndChat works great, but has issues with 3g, I can't ever connect to any network with 3g on, it works fine with wifi though. This is a known issue with the AndChat developers, however, there is still confusion on whether its the network causing the problem, or the program itself.
    If you absolutely have to use IRC over 3g because you have no wifi near you, fIRC has connected fine for me over 3g AND wifi.
    I prefer AndChat, but I'm not always around a hotspot when I need to access IRC.

    Here is the link to the discussion on 3G and IRC over at AndChat: http://groups.google.com/group/andchat/browse_thread/thread/363009a29b735385
     
    #4 billyidle, Jan 18, 2010
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2010
  5. radioz

    radioz Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Oregon
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the AndChat suggestion.

    I just installed it and it seems to work great.

    I just logged into freenode using 3G (wireless disabled) and it seems to be working fine for me. Anyone else having success/problems with 3G?
     
  6. Anomander

    Anomander Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    453
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Oregon
    Ratings:
    +41
    andchat user here. works fine got me on wifi and 3g for the undernet servers. I also have not tried to dcc send since I do not believe out will work.
     
  7. MissAngelaB

    MissAngelaB New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Apparently there are a lot of IRC networks that Verizon has blocked on their servers directly. So there are only a few IRC networks you can access, the ones that they deem "will give verizon customers the best user experience" as stated on verizons website by one of their droid x users after he called VZ to complain.

    Here is the thread, it was the 2nd from the bottom when I last read it (9th from the top).

    Edit ---- This is for accessing IRC servers via 3G (wireless isn't using their servers), going wireless may be the only way to access the other servers until enough people complain, or leave Verizon as a company thus making the cost of maintaining the blocks too high.
     
    #7 MissAngelaB, Nov 20, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2010
  8. Jordan8

    Jordan8 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Kentucky
    Ratings:
    +0

    I've been using a BNC to connect to a blocked network, seems to be working fine.
     
Search tags for this page
3g irc
,
andchat dcc
,
andchat undernet
,

andchat verizon

,
android irc undernet
,
dcc is not possible over 3g
,
dcc over 3g
,
download files irc android
,
irc undernet android
,
undernet on android