Use WiFi instead of 3G

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by grizgrin, Nov 13, 2010.

  1. grizgrin

    grizgrin New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    SC in the USA, but I travel too much
    Ratings:
    +0
    I travel abroad all the time, so being able to use Android MArketplace, as well as have my email and SMS update/ come over WiFi would be invaluable to me. Would love to be able to use Skype so I could actually use the phone overseas as well. As it stands currently I have to switch back to my BB Tour whenever I travel. This sucks cause I love my Droids! I have a Droi X I use as my main phone, but my Droid is the one I would be willing to root if I have to to get these functions working. Any suggestions?
     
  2. Jale

    Jale Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    You'll need a modified version of Skype to run over WiFi. Your email should come-in once you're connected to the internet with a WiFi link.
     
  3. Quicksilver7714

    Quicksilver7714 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,437
    Likes Received:
    60
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +60
    There has to be a way to turn off 3g in the settings some were so you don't get charged for data. It was in the wireless network setting on my Droid but its not there on my Droid X.
    I know that you can have the phone in airplane mode with wifi turned on but then you cant receive calls.
     
  4. zachkohn

    zachkohn New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Go to data manager/data delivery/
    uncheck data over mobile network



    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  5. grizgrin

    grizgrin New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    SC in the USA, but I travel too much
    Ratings:
    +0
    Jale: any idea where I can pick up a copy of such a modded Skype? Also, the part aout email was right. I started getting email from my gmail account, but my yahoos are all down. It says it could not connect to server. One weird thing I noticed; the pasworrd, while not shown, was like a dozen digits too long. I corrected it, retyped in; but still would not connect. Same on my other 2 yahoo accounts.

    zack: it is unchecked.
     
  6. Bear in NM

    Bear in NM Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,389
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +1
    If you are willing to try an app to control your connectivity, rooted, Droidwall from the market allows for complete data control. You can whitelist or blacklist to control every app on the phone. While I have not used it abroad, I use it when I go into the mountains out of coverage. As an example, it allows me to play music and use GPS while locking down all other connectivety. And if I find a spot with 1x coverage, I can choose just to allow email to connect, as I do not care about market or other syncing. This approach will not help the OP with the wifi side of things, but for those of you looking to finetune your connectivity, it is great.

    Craig
     
  7. jlutz555

    jlutz555 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    To disable 3g data and still use wifi, you need to enable airplane mode, then manually re-enable wifi.
     
  8. Quicksilver7714

    Quicksilver7714 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,437
    Likes Received:
    60
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +60
    I thought I saw it some where i just forgot. Thanks
     
  9. grizgrin

    grizgrin New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    SC in the USA, but I travel too much
    Ratings:
    +0
    zachkohn: I totally misread the last step in your suggestion. I thought you were talking about data roaming. I have no option in Data Delivery for Data Over Mobile Network. My options under Data Delivery are Background Data, Data Roaming, Email and Corporate Sync, and Social Applications. Next time I'll read first, sorry.

    Any ideas why I wouldnt have this Data Over Mobile Network option?
     
  10. zachkohn

    zachkohn New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I updated to froyo. Not sure what version you have.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  11. phaze3131

    phaze3131 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    skype can't use wifi lol?
     
  12. grizgrin

    grizgrin New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    SC in the USA, but I travel too much
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nope, prevents people from circumventing minutes plans etc...
     
Search tags for this page

android use wifi instead of 3g

,
android use wifi instead of data
,
droid use wifi instead 3g
,
how to use wifi instead of 3g on android
,

how to use wifi instead of data on android

,
use wifi instead of 3g android
,
use wifi instead of data
,
use wifi instead of data android
,
use wifi on droid instead of 3g
,
using wifi instead of 3g