Use SIM 1 or Use SIM 2?

Discussion in 'Android Support' started by Agunat, Sep 7, 2015.

  1. Agunat

    Agunat New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3
    Verizon, Note 3.

    Not all the time but sometimes when attempting to make a phone call the phone will ask me if I want to use SIM 1 or use SIM 2. This just started recently. Deos anyone know why this is happening or what to do about it?

    Thanks... Bob
     
  2. Miller6386

    Miller6386 Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    2,294
    Likes Received:
    1,595
    Trophy Points:
    1,363
    Location:
    Beer Tent Capital of The World
    Ratings:
    +1,740
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 4
    Twitter:
    CoreyFMiller
    Have you downloaded any new calling apps?

    Note 4tified
     
  3. Agunat

    Agunat New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3
    I'm sure you'll love this answer: Maybe. Well, probably. Might there be any other possibilities? I'm nervous to start deleting apps but I'll do it if I have to.

    Bob
     
  4. Miller6386

    Miller6386 Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    2,294
    Likes Received:
    1,595
    Trophy Points:
    1,363
    Location:
    Beer Tent Capital of The World
    Ratings:
    +1,740
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 4
    Twitter:
    CoreyFMiller
    Well as far as I know the Note 3 on Verizon didn't support dual sim that's why I'm leaning towards a calling app that utilizes the feature but just doesn't "check" compatability before "asking" un needed questions.

    Is this a certified verizon device?

    Note 4tified
     
  5. Agunat

    Agunat New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3
    Yes, the phone is legit Verizon. And no, it does not have a 2nd sim but that doesn't stop this app (whatever it is) from asking. The phone is about 2 years old and it just started doing this. It did it again today and I noticed there is a check box (which is checked) for the phone to remember my choice. It does not though. I went through my apps and found a phone app that I have not been using and uninstalled it. The app was not recently downloaded and the phone asked me to make the choice after the app was deleted. When a pop-up like that occurs there is no way to tell which app is generating it is there?

    Thanks... Bob
     
  6. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,806
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,290
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    Boot into Safe Mode and see if it asks you the same way. If it doesn't then you can be sure it's a user installed app.
     
  7. Agunat

    Agunat New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3
    First of all, what is safe mode and how do I get in it? What functionality will I lose while in it? The phone doesn't do it all the time. I might have to leave it in safe mode for a couple of days. Assuming it is an app, how do we find out which one? If it is not an app then what?

    Bob