1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Use SetCPU with CM 7.0.3?

Discussion in 'Cyanogenmod' started by Benny, May 31, 2011.

  1. Benny
    Offline

    Benny New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi,
    So I'm new to Cyanogen mod and I found out that overclocking and underclocking are done in the Cyanogen mod settings. In my opinion, I like setcpu better and was wondering if it's a good idea to use it with CM. If I do use it, will the two conflict? Is there a way of preventing CM settings from controlling the CPU?
    Thanks
  2. zerosouls
    Offline

    zerosouls Soulless Droid Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Menzoberranzan
    CyanogenMod 7 has built in CPU governor... the only thing you would use SetCPU for would be for profiles, which is actually pretty handy.
  3. droidkevlar
    Offline

    droidkevlar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    453
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I use setcpu and have no issues. I did not set anything up in CM settings. I would recommend only using 1. Not both. So if you use setcpu like I do, you dont need to use that setting in CM.
  4. Benny
    Offline

    Benny New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I can't disable the setting in CM though...
  5. zerosouls
    Offline

    zerosouls Soulless Droid Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Menzoberranzan
    Now, I'm not in CM7 at the moment, but I believe the CM CPU governor is always on and there is no way to turn it off... maybe there is an option to turn off CPU scaling in CM7 but to my memory I do not think there is one.
  6. zerosouls
    Offline

    zerosouls Soulless Droid Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Menzoberranzan
    Right. If you use profiles in SetCPU then it comes in handy. But if you are ONLY using SetCPU to set the speed then I would stick with the default CM scaling options.

    The profiles are pretty handy. I have it set so if the screen is off the CPU scales down to 700mhz to conserve battery. Also have a setting if battery temp goes above 40 degrees Celsius.
  7. nlinecomputers
    Offline

    nlinecomputers New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Mine has a check box for "Set on Boot" You need to turn that off. You also need to set the min and max you plan on using. SetCPU will go no higher then what you set here. But you can set it lower here or use profiles in SetCPU to set lower. The settings in the Cynogenmod menues are just the min/max limits.
  8. droidkevlar
    Offline

    droidkevlar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    453
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There is an option in CM for set on boot. I have have that unchecked. All the settings I have in Setcpu stay after I reboot and CM doesnt take control at all. I have a few profiles like screen off, under 50%, heat over 44 degrees and they all work.
  9. zerosouls
    Offline

    zerosouls Soulless Droid Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Menzoberranzan
    Ah right, forgot the set on boot option.
  10. droidkevlar
    Offline

    droidkevlar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    453
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    NP. Enjoy CM....to me its what makes owning a D1 still great. And the other dev support for this out dated phone.
Search tags for this page
cyanogen disable cpu governor
,

setcpu for cm burst