use mp3 as sms ringtone

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by 01klrjoe, Jun 6, 2011.

  1. 01klrjoe

    01klrjoe New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just wondering how to change the sms txt message notification ringtone to an mp3. Thanks and let me know.
     
  2. pool_shark

    pool_shark Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    Choose music instead of android system, pick the mp3.
     
  3. 01klrjoe

    01klrjoe New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    How is this done. Just through system settings or will I have to plug in and change system folders around?
     
  4. pool_shark

    pool_shark Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    Just thru the settings, if you have the mp3 on your sdcard.

    Go thru the settings to change your ringtones but instead of choosing android system, choose music.
     
  5. Leung

    Leung Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0

    I have several MP3s on my sdcard but when i go to change the ringtones, it only shows me that stock ringtones not what is on my SDcard. Do they need to be in the "my_ringtones" folder or can they be from my "my_music" folder?
     
  6. pool_shark

    pool_shark Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    They can be anywhere on the SD card. It shows you stock ringtones because you're choosing android system, choose music instead, it will show you every mp3 you have.
     
  7. jonathon1289

    jonathon1289 Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Middle TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    When I go into settings>Sound and set a ringtone, there is not an option to specify where it pulls from. DX with the rooted .596, but even on stock FroYo there was not an option. No hidden menu options either that I can find.
    So, from what I have seen you can move the .mp3 into /sdcard/media/audio/ringtones and it will show up in your list. You can also use a free app such as Ringdroid and set it that way.
     
  8. Leung

    Leung Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's was what I thought, thanks man.
     
  9. pool_shark

    pool_shark Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    It is not a hidden menu.

    Menu - settings - sound - phone ringtone.

    You should see Android system, music, and one other I believe. What do you see in the phone ringtone menu?
     
  10. jonathon1289

    jonathon1289 Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Middle TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    I select phone rington and just have a list to scroll through of different ringtones. There is no option anywhere in the SOund settings to change the source.
    Are you using a custom ROM or anything?
     
  11. pool_shark

    pool_shark Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    Nope. It was like that on Froyo on my DX and my D2 and it's the same on GB.
    You must have chosen android system by default and now it only shows you that option.

    Go to settings - applications - all. Find settings and clear defaults.
     
  12. jonathon1289

    jonathon1289 Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Middle TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, I will check there and see, but I don't ever remember seeing that option. I'm not worried about it since I always use Ringdroid to customize my ringtones anyways, but still nice to know.

    I was just fixing to post screenshots to show what I see.

    EDIT: I just checked in Applications.Settings and there are no defaults set. I can clear data, but assume that will reset all of my customization and I don't feel like redoing it all. So while it would be nice to know where that option is, again I use an app to handle my ringtones so I am not too worried about it. Thanks

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2011
  13. pool_shark

    pool_shark Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    With mine, music shows up under handcent because I have handcent ringtones checked in handcent settings. If I did the music option would be right here.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2011
Search tags for this page
assmiss mp3
,
assmiss.song.com
,
assmrs mp3 204
,

assms mp3

,
assms vedio song
,
assms-mp3
,
droid change ringtone to mp3
,
how to change, use mp3 as android phone message ...
,
www assms mp3
,
www assms mp3 song