USB Mass Storage/PC Mode not working

Discussion in 'Liberty ROM DX' started by crypto, Feb 5, 2011.

  1. crypto
    Offline

    crypto New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Installed Liberty 1.5 tonight. But for some reason when i connect the phone to my pc USB mass storage, PC mode etc aren't working. Charge only works, but the other modes don't do anything and the computer isn't picking up my device.

    My install process went like this:

    From Fission, clockwork recovery, wipe data/cache 3 times
    Restore nandroid backup of stock 2.3.340
    boot phone, boot back into clockwork recovery, wipe data/cache 3 times
    install liberty 1.5

    So i know it can't be something from the install because i installed it from a stock ROM. Also i have no apps installed on the SD card.

    anyone else having this problem or got any ideas on fixing it?
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2011
  2. kejar31
    Offline

    kejar31 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well you really didn't need to restore the 320.. Anyways, do me a favor and simply try and install Liberty again, this time without a wipe
  3. mr_silent
    Offline

    mr_silent New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Anchorage, Alaska
    USB debuging maybe, check the settings>applications>development and check the box.

    Sent from my Milestone 1 using Droid Forums app
  4. crypto
    Offline

    crypto New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    the reason i did that is that when i had originally went from Fission to Liberty even with doing data wipes, i had a few bugs and force close issues. But then when going back to stock, and then to liberty those issues where gone.

    Also i just noticed that the phone isn't even charging via usb with the PC either. It'll charge just fine with the wall plug, but not with the usb via PC.
    And I've switched USB ports on my computer to make sure that wasn't the problem.

    I guess i can reinstall liberty again. Kinda bummed though cos i just got my phone fully set up again :)




    already checked that. Debugging is enabled
  5. kejar31
    Offline

    kejar31 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    no dont do a wipe install, just install Liberty without a wipe. You will keep your apps and setup but all your system apps will be reinstalled
  6. crypto
    Offline

    crypto New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    oh ok cool, i'll give it a shot. thanks
  7. crypto
    Offline

    crypto New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    nope, didn't work.

    Another strange thing i noticed is that my circle battery widget, changes color to show that the phone is charging. However the status bar icon doesn't change, and the phone doesn't actually charge. (only using usb with the PC)\


    i adjusted the sysctl settings using the guide someone posted up in here, would that have any effect?
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2011
  8. mr_silent
    Offline

    mr_silent New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Anchorage, Alaska
    Think I saw a thread on this a few days ago, check the liberty rom section of the forum and see if anyone else is having issues with this. Id check but I'm about to go eat dinner. Ill check back in later and see what I can come up with.

    Sent from my Milestone 1 using Droid Forums app
  9. crypto
    Offline

    crypto New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i searched around and couldn't find any other threads
  10. crypto
    Offline

    crypto New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    just tried it again and now it's working all of a sudden. I'll post back here if it stops working again.
  11. mr_silent
    Offline

    mr_silent New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Anchorage, Alaska
    Yeah let us know. I just noticed last night when I was mounting to my linux PS3 that I had to wiggle the ps3 end a bit to get it to mount. Maybe its just the ps3 though.
    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
Search tags for this page
android usb mass storage not working
,
can't see droid x in mass storage mode
,
droid 2 usb mass storage not working
,
droid 3 usb mass storage wont work
,
droid charge only charges wont mass storage
,
droid x not coming up on computer for mass storage
,

droid x usb mass storage not working

,
droid x won't connect to usb mass storage
,
mass storage isn't working
,
my mass storage mode isnt worjing
,
my usb mass storage device isn't working
,
switching broken droid from charge only to mass sorage on pc
,
usb mode android not working
,
usb mode not working android
,
usb storage on my droid isn't working