URGENT HELP! rommed a D3 rom on my bionic on accident!!!! HELP!~~~

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by nazzo123, Oct 27, 2011.

  1. nazzo123
    Offline

    nazzo123 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i rommed a Liberty Droid 3 rom on my bionic by accident. i rommed my phone a couple times i am not new. it still works. sends messages, calls, but i cant surf the web on mobile data 3g/4g. Please help me unroot back to stock bionic. step by step please? how can i fix this?:mad:
  2. leftspin
    Offline

    leftspin Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,128
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    New Jersey
  3. nazzo123
    Offline

    nazzo123 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks I think I'll try it tomorrow!:) anymore suggestions?
  4. skylinedrifter
    Offline

    skylinedrifter New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you still have Clockwork, you can download the correct ROM via PC, move it to your SD card, boot to recovery and flash according to standard procedure.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  5. nazzo123
    Offline

    nazzo123 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    But which clickwork recovery should I get? D3 or bionic since its a d3 I think? And before I rommed this liberty 3 I did the perm root and. 893 update
  6. nazzo123
    Offline

    nazzo123 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wouldn't I need a bootstrap?
  7. leftspin
    Offline

    leftspin Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,128
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    New Jersey
    your phone is still a bionic so you would use the bionic clockwork and just flash the proper ROM over what you're on, taking the necessary steps before doing so (I would assume a factory reset, wipe cache, etc). Then you could avoid doing the SBF
  8. nazzo123
    Offline

    nazzo123 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So what your saying is that I should get The bionic bootstrap and flash a rom like re blurr3d over this one and I will be fine?
  9. leftspin
    Offline

    leftspin Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,128
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I'm not sure if you need to bootstrap or not, you may be able to reboot into CWM without it
  10. nazzo123
    Offline

    nazzo123 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How do you do that?
  11. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    How did you get into recovery to install the D3 ROM? Since you are able to use your phone just use that same method, once in recovery then flash a Bionic ROM with a full wipe to erase any parts of the D3 ROM you mistakenly installed.
  12. akhi216
    Offline

    akhi216 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    527
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Oh wow, I've seen it all...

    *no disrespect to the op intended*

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  13. nazzo123
    Offline

    nazzo123 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    will my forever root and .893 update still be on my phone if i bootstrap it and flash the RIGHT rom on it?
  14. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Although I am not familiar with the Bionic procedures, I can not see a reason why root would not stay. Flashing a ROM has never ruined root for me since you require root to run and flash a custom ROM.
  15. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    But if you would like I can try and get a Bionic owner in here and see what they have to say.

    Only because I am not familiar with the flashing and romming procedures on the Bionic.
  16. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,470
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you can get into recovery just flash the correct liberty ROM, 893 and root should stick...if you still have issues it's nothing an FXZ couldn't fix and if needed we can walk you through that, no problem :)

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
  17. nazzo123
    Offline

    nazzo123 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    And my SD card isint working right too. I formatted it but it still says blank internal storage
  18. Nyteravyn
    Offline

    Nyteravyn New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MidWest
    hey there, relax.. it's not as bad as it seems.
    all you have to do is download another rom... V
    2.o its awesome... You won't lose root or .893 if its ether from cupcake .. If 893 is only from the bad ROM then you will get it back with th3ory ROM 2.0
    How did you putt that one on the last time?
    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  19. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,437
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    Flashing a custom ROM gets rid of your "forever root" unless the ROM has it built in already. "Forever Root" is established by making a few tweaks to one file in /system/bin, and when you flash a new ROM, the ROM wipes the /system partition clean and puts its own /system on there.

    You could just flash another ROM in clockwork - you'll just have to get the Bionic bootstrap.

    But my two cents? Start over clean - especially since you flashed another phone's ROM, then make a nandroid of the clean install so you can easily revert back to it.

    If you want to do that, here's what you do...

    Go here, download this: [ROOT] R3L3AS3D W/FOR3V3R ROOT V1.0 LINUX/WINDOWS (Get ROOT after 893 OTA OOPS) - RootzWiki

    Extract that to a directory on your desktop.

    Then go to the third page of that thread and download the updated script file - then extract that updated script file into the same directory on your desktop and let it replace the file in there already.

    Power down your phone, then boot into fastboot - hold volume-down, press power for a few seconds, then release power.

    Plug your phone into the computer, then run the .bat file in that directory.

    It'll flash a new /system and all that, then your phone will reboot - don't close the command window - it should say "waiting for phone, press any key to continue" or something like that. Don't push anything yet...

    Once your phone reboots, skip the initial setup process and make sure you usb connection is set to "charge only" and that you have usb debugging enabled (settings > applications > development).

    Now "press any key to continue" in the command window, and it'll root it for you again, and tweak it so you have "forever root" again.

    That's it - then you'll be back to a stock .886 phone with forever root. Keep in mind, you'll still have the 893 radio/kernel - that'll never change.
    1 person likes this.
  20. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,437
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    I've noticed when messing with all this that sometimes my SD card won't remount and I have to manually mount it - check that. (settings > storage)