Upgrading one phone for another account

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by topaz330, Apr 27, 2010.

  1. topaz330

    topaz330 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    My fiance phone is due and loves my Droid. Since I'm not eligible for an upgrade I was contiplating using her upgrade to get the incredible and give her my Droid. Anyone know how that would work activation wise when the phone comes in the mail? Does she need to activate the phone first or do I just activate it under my line and let her activate the Droid after.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  2. LtKen

    LtKen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,628
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +2
    Call VZW and explain to them what you want to do. They'll take care of it easy enough for you.​
     
  3. topaz330

    topaz330 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You don't think they will have a problem that he phone is for another account?

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  4. LtKen

    LtKen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,628
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +2
    I know they wont. Plenty of people, including myself, have done this.
     
  5. topaz330

    topaz330 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks! Also would it be any different if I just activated the phone online when I get it? I figured it would be faster and easier as I wont have to have conference my fiance in for authorization if I call cs

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  6. littlerick

    littlerick Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    all i had to do was activate the droid under my wifes number, then reactivate her old phone then activate the droid under my number. only took a few minutes
     
  7. topaz330

    topaz330 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    would you even need to go through that? what would happen if i just activated on my line and left everything else alone? how would vz know to extend contract for 1 year?
     
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2010
  8. topaz330

    topaz330 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    anyone else done this?
     
  9. littlerick

    littlerick Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    i tried to just activate it on my line but since it was her upgrade they said it had to be activated on her line first then swapped over.
     
Search tags for this page

activate a phone from another account verizon

,
can i order a phone for one account and then activate it to
,
can u upgrade on one account and activate on another
,
upgrading a phone for another
,

verizon can i upgrade a phone but activate it on another account

,
whatapps account from one phone to another