Upgrading from 2.3.320 to 2.3.340 via update.zip

Discussion in 'Droid X Tech Support' started by TICTACTULAR, Dec 15, 2010.

  1. TICTACTULAR
    Offline

    TICTACTULAR Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Ratings:
    +0
    Would anyone like to help me on if this is possible or not?
    I've tried rsd lite but it says chipset not supported...any help would be nice :)
     
  2. tatuud
    Offline

    tatuud Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    go to "my droid world", they have the exact steps and files to bring you from 320 to 340. you go to forum/droid x discussions and it's in one of the threads.
     
  3. Dustin.
    Offline

    Dustin. Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Joplin, Missouri
    Ratings:
    +0
    TBH Patches: 2.3.340-System, Baseband, 2.3.340-Kernel, Bootloader

    The link right above has every piece of .340 that will help you fully upgrade your X to .340! I did it, and it's been working flawlessly so far.

    Before you start updating everything, make sure you check your, Baseband, Kernel, and Bootloader versions, as they MAY already be up-to-date.

    WARNING
    - Before you do the Kernel Updater, make sure you have JRummys Overclock App UNINSTALLED if you have it as an app on your phone. (There was a setting in this app that was causing people to bootloop when doing the Kernel update so make sure you take that extra precaution.
     
  4. TICTACTULAR
    Offline

    TICTACTULAR Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you tatuud! I'm up to date now :D I can't thank you enough! Duhstehn, thanks for the heads up! Kudos to the both of you!
     
  5. Dustin.
    Offline

    Dustin. Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Joplin, Missouri
    Ratings:
    +0
    No problem! Glad we could help!
     
  6. er0wid
    Offline

    er0wid New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    No luck for me. :(

    Is there anyway for me to put the phone back to complete stock settings? Hard reset didn't work.
     
  7. TICTACTULAR
    Offline

    TICTACTULAR Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you make a back up?
    Or wipe data and cache then install the zip again?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  8. tatuud
    Offline

    tatuud Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    you should at least use the 320 full sbf and then use the system only 340 sbf. you wont be current on some of the stuff but your phone will be running good. from there when you get a little more comfortable you can then try the TBH files to update your kernal/bootloader/baseband. make sure you have at the minimum rsdlite 4.8, there is 4.9 also. i would also stick with windows 32bit as 64bit doesn't alwasy play nice.
     
  9. tatuud
    Offline

    tatuud Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You're very welcome i'm glad we were able to assist you with your phone. good luck
     
  10. Macdaddydc
    Offline

    Macdaddydc New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey folks - I have downloaded all of the files as posted above but when I try to restart holding power + home buttons, I get the choice menu and select the updater.zip option but receive an error saying the file can't be found.
    The question I have is twofold:
    Do I rename the files?
    Do I need to move these files to some specific direct on the sd card and if so, where?
    Any help would be appreciated
    DC
    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  11. tatuud
    Offline

    tatuud Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    zip files are loaded through Clockwork recovery not stock recovery. you need to have a program called Droid X recovery bootstrap by Koush. this will allow you to load zip files.
     
  12. MrTissues
    Offline

    MrTissues New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Will doing this update.zip bring me to stock so that I can get future Motorola updates normally?
     
  13. Dustin.
    Offline

    Dustin. Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Joplin, Missouri
    Ratings:
    +0
    Doing this update will take you to the latest .340 OTA. Your device will be in a out of the box state. Then you can go from there.

    Sent from my DROID X.
     
  14. MrTissues
    Offline

    MrTissues New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you. One last thing. To do this I would want to root, install Koush's Bootstrap, and then use ROM Manager's custom recovery to apply the file right (rename it to update.zip)?

    If so, I am having trouble getting Z4 to root my device. Do you know anything about that?
     
Search tags for this page
2.3.340 zip file
,

2.3.320 droid x update

,

droid x 2.3.320 update