1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Upgraded today: Rooted T-Bolt to MAXX (should I root?)

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Hacks' started by P7M8, Jun 5, 2012.

  1. P7M8
    Offline

    P7M8 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NOLA
    I mainly rooted my T-Bolt to get better battery life and for the hotspot. I really don't like having to keep up with the latest ROMS. If the MAXX's battery is what they say it is I won't have an issue. Only real loss now would be the hotspot.

    Am I missing any other benefits? I think I'm over customizing everything on my phone. I just want a seamless OS that works.
  2. droidian1441
    Offline

    droidian1441 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You wont have to root for Hotspot if you download "FoxFi" from the Google Play Store.

    If ya like custom roms yeah time to root. If you like Motoblur you wont have to root unless ya want to.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2
  3. P7M8
    Offline

    P7M8 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NOLA
    Thanks for the guidance. I'll play with Motoblur for a while and see how it is.
  4. Caesars
    Offline

    Caesars Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,202
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    48
    I also considered rooting maxx but when I was reminded Ics will allow me to freeze Verizon crap ware I decided to wait ;)

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
  5. jpcalhoun
    Offline

    jpcalhoun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    PA
    The version of the leaked ICS I tried would allow you to disable "SOME" of the Verizon blootware, but not all of it. I was not able to disable most of the Verizon bloatware. We don't know what disabling capability the official ICS release will give us.