Upgrade disaster!

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy Note 3' started by biggdave92, Mar 1, 2014.

  1. biggdave92

    biggdave92 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Went in to best buy today to get a note 3. Before I left the store I couldn't get my Google account to sync. Was getting "chrome to mobile:Auth token authorization" error. After the rep talked to Verizon, Google, and Samsung they couldn't get it to sync. So, I returned it and came back home with my s4. What a waste of 3 hours......

    Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
     
  2. droidprincess

    droidprincess Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    Messages:
    9,454
    Likes Received:
    3,847
    Trophy Points:
    578
    Location:
    La Grange, TX
    Ratings:
    +4,082
    Current Phone Model:
    Iphone 7 Plus
    Twitter:
    droidprincesstx
    Thats weird.....did any of the reps say what that error is for?

    sent from my Hot Galaxy Note 3 ;-)
     
  3. droidprincess

    droidprincess Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    Messages:
    9,454
    Likes Received:
    3,847
    Trophy Points:
    578
    Location:
    La Grange, TX
    Ratings:
    +4,082
    Current Phone Model:
    Iphone 7 Plus
    Twitter:
    droidprincesstx
    Would be interesting to know what that error means...

    sent from my Hot Galaxy Note 3 ;-)
     
  4. biggdave92

    biggdave92 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I don't think anyone knows what it means. I was on the fence about the upgrade to begin with so I took it as a sign. Guess I'll wait to play with an s5.

    Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
     
  5. Dalvik_Cache

    Dalvik_Cache Super Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013
    Messages:
    927
    Likes Received:
    125
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Central US
    Ratings:
    +125
    Do you recall what the error was? If so, I can tell you what it meant most likely.
     
  6. biggdave92

    biggdave92 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I was getting the chrome symbol in my notification bar. When setting up the phone I logged into Google, then had to log in on the Web browser, the. 2 step verification, which was normal. But, once all was done, it wouldn't sync contacts and Gmail wouldn't load. And, I couldn't use Chrome browser. If I went to accounts it said it was set up but wouldn't sync contacts or Gmail.

    Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
     
  7. BigMcGuire

    BigMcGuire Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Ratings:
    +2
    I rooted last week and recently changed a Rom and realized that my 2 factor authentication was OFF. So I turned it on only to have it fail on the syncing and constantly asking me for my credentials. I freaked out wondering what happened thinking maybe the Rom didn't support two factor authentication??? I spent 4+ hours trying everything I could only to realize it was failing to connect to Google Servers after I had logged in. I let it sit there for another hour, turned on 2 factor authentication, logged in, bam, everything synced.

    I only mention this because it sounds familiar to what happened to you guys. I wonder if Google was having problems with their servers or if there was a cooldown where it wouldn't let me log in after so many attempts? Google on my PC was fine, but the phone would fail to connect to Google Servers to sync contacts, gmail - but did everything else.

    After I let the phone sit for an hour, everything worked fine after turning 2 factor on, and has been for several days now (with 2 factor authentication ON).

    Fyi - I ALWAYS turn 2 factor authentication OFF when upgrading to a new phone so I can easily log in with the new phone with just my password. Either that or just tell the Rep that I'll sign into Google myself when I get home. I hate it when they touch my phone anyway, lol.
     
  8. alhadee12

    alhadee12 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2013
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +9
    @BBigMcGuire I agree because the 2 step requires a different password authentication. I either use my business email because it goes through Google wait until I get home.

    Sent from my LG-D950 using Tapatalk