Updating ROM Question...

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by SmokinHawtVegasChic, Aug 6, 2010.

  1. SmokinHawtVegasChic
    Offline

    SmokinHawtVegasChic New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sin City, NV
    First things first...

    Phone: Moto Droid
    V.2.2
    Kernel: 2.6.32.9-P3Droids
    ROM: Sapphire-0.7.0-Droid

    I need to update to Sapphire-1.0.0...How do I do it? I've downloaded the update file for it...Put that file on my SDcard renamed it Update.zip ... what do I do from there?


    EDIT: Nvm...I got it!! *Is determined to NOT be a Droid Noob for long!!* MUAHAHAHAHAHAH
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2010
  2. ukyfan
    Offline

    ukyfan Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    The Heart of Big Blue Country
    Since you have already renamed it and have it on the root of your sdcard, just start at #2

    1. Download the update.zip file at the top of this page
    2. Reboot your phone into recovery mode
    3. MAKE A BACKUP OF YOUR PHONE
    4. Reset phone to factory default
    5. Push sapphire-1.0.0-update.zip to /sdcard/update.zip
    6. Tell your recovery to allow update.zip installation
    7. Install from /sdcard/update.zip
    Easy as pie :)
  3. SmokinHawtVegasChic
    Offline

    SmokinHawtVegasChic New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sin City, NV

    HOLY CANOLI BATMAN!!! I didn't' do the backup part. FRACK!!
  4. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    You may want to do a wipe of both data and cache after that back up.
  5. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Be sure to load the gapp zip too. That allows you to login to your gmail account and get the market apps.
  6. SmokinHawtVegasChic
    Offline

    SmokinHawtVegasChic New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sin City, NV
    Bayou, do I do this the same way as I do the update deal? I have that .zip downloaded on the comp how to I run it to the phone?
  7. SmokinHawtVegasChic
    Offline

    SmokinHawtVegasChic New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sin City, NV
    Ok...bonehead here again...did a recovery...phone is back to 0.7.0.
    Got the Update.zip set...booted to recovery...backed up...reset to factory...what's this "push" thing...do the "install of /sdcard/update.zip" right?

    I get there and do the install. I get this...

    --Install from sdcard...
    Finding update package...
    Opening update package...
    Verifying update package...
    E:update.zip install blocked
    Installation aborted.
    *install bar gets to about 1/5 and sits*

    What am I doing wrong?
  8. ukyfan
    Offline

    ukyfan Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    The Heart of Big Blue Country
    After you make the backup then you should just need to go down to “install” and pick “Allow update.zip Installation”. When you do that it doesn’t seem like anything actually happened, but then just click on “Install /sdcard/update.zip (decompressed)”. Once that is finished reboot. After you reboot install the gapps the same way. Install, pick Allow update then install and reboot.

    Once you reboot then you will have all Sapphire 1.0.0, and all of its awesomeness!

    That should work, at least it always has for me.

    ************
    Oh you might want to try downloading it again. it might be hanging on you because it got corrupted while downloading. *shrug*
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2010
  9. SmokinHawtVegasChic
    Offline

    SmokinHawtVegasChic New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sin City, NV
    Woot...was missing the "Allow" part...Woot WELCOME TO SAPPHIRE 1.0.0!!! hehe :icon_ banana:dancedroid
  10. ukyfan
    Offline

    ukyfan Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    The Heart of Big Blue Country
    Woohoo!! I would make another backup too. Maybe that is just me, but I bet I have done a ton of them. Just save them on my PC at home and move them over to the phone if need be.
  11. SmokinHawtVegasChic
    Offline

    SmokinHawtVegasChic New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sin City, NV
    lol You see how complicated this was for me lol...and you jest by saying make another backup and put it on my comp...I know not how to do that lol..

    However, the worst part is having to download all my apps again. I still don't know the full capability of this phone.
  12. ukyfan
    Offline

    ukyfan Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    The Heart of Big Blue Country
    laugh... well once you sign back into your gmail acct it should start to download all your apps for you. You might want to look into downloading Titanium Backup. It is well worth it. Plus it is free!

    As for the backup. Just boot into recovery and make another backup. name it to something that you would remember. Once it has finished and you reboot just connect your phone to your PC, pick "USB connected" from your pull down tool bar. Press where it says "Turn on USB storage". You will then be able to move things to and from your phone to your PC. Once you move your backup onto your PC press the button to turn off USA storage. :)
Search tags for this page

updating rom