Updating facebook on UD 1.0

Discussion in 'UltimateDroid' started by drini, Nov 3, 2010.

  1. drini

    drini New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not sure if it's just my phone but is anyone else having problems updating facebook using UD 1.0? I've tried uninstalling the facebook app but unsuccessful and tried uninstalling the theme for facebook but it still won't allow it to update. Anyone else having this issue or found a work around?
     
  2. OneTenderRebel

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +64
    Yeah it's because facebook is installed in the system/app folder. You need to move it to the data/app folder and delete the dalvik cache and reboot and then update. Do you know how to do that or do if you need I can give you a more detailed walkthrough.

    Edit: Apparently you don't have to delete dalvik-cache, sorry thought you did.
     
    #2 OneTenderRebel, Nov 3, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2010
  3. drini

    drini New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the quick reply. If it wouldn't be to much trouble, could you give me a little more of a walk through. I should be able to pick up pretty quickly just need to know where to start.

    Thanks
     
  4. OneTenderRebel

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +64
    Ok do you have root explorer installed or a similar file viewing app?
     
  5. drini

    drini New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    Downloading it now. So all I have to do is move from system/apps to data/apps then delete the file you said. Then install the update. Do I then have to move it again for the theme to work or no?
     
  6. OneTenderRebel

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +64
    I am not sure about the theme, I just kept mine in data/app so I could still receive any future updates. Yeah move it from system/app to data/app, delete the dalvik-cache which is found in the data folder. Reboot, install update, should work. I just did it and it worked for me.

    Edit: Don't need to delete dalvik-cache
     
    #6 OneTenderRebel, Nov 3, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2010
  7. drini

    drini New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    Awesome. Thanks for your help.
     
  8. OneTenderRebel

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +64
    No problem, let me know if it works for you or if you need more help.
     
  9. chadwick108

    chadwick108 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Western NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    i installed and was using ud 1.0 and was having trouble with launcher home pro plus allowing to connect to facebook for the launcher pro plus widget. I went back to an old backup and it worked fine. also was having trouble using wireless trouble on that rom. definately going back to the UD if i can get those two things to work. anyone have any suggestions??
     
  10. gwhiz377

    gwhiz377 Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know the dev for LauncherPro accidentally deleted some key that was needed for facebook. All you have to do is go into preferences>lp widgets>facebook and sign in again and it works. Not sure about your wireless problem.
     
  11. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    Has anybody inverted this version yet?? I'm really gonna miss Thebowers' fb theme!

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums app (free in market)
     
  12. JMody

    JMody Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've tried to update from the market and I'm getting the install unsuccessful. I've tried moving the Facebook.apk from system/app to data/app as mentioned and that didn't work. I've tried deleting facebook altogether and just installing from the market and that didn't work either. Any ideas?