Updating bootloader and baseband for non-OTA?

Discussion in 'Droid X Hacks' started by AesirX, Oct 20, 2010.

  1. AesirX

    AesirX Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone know how to update to the newest bootloader (30.03) and the newest baseband (.....7) if you never flashed the OTA? I've constantly kept up with the newest ROMs and never bothered with the official 2.2 OTA, but now it seems like I can't get the newest bootloader or baseband. Since I flashed the full 2.2 SBF using RSD lite 4.8 I can't SBF back to 2.1 (get Err: A5, 70, 70, 00,1F in the bootloader). I'm still on bootloader 30.01 and have tried the 2.1 SBF in both RSD lite 4.7 and 4.8, but neither works. The 2.2 SBF still works fine, but I have no way to get the new baseband and bootloader. If anyone has any ideas, I'd really appreciate the help! Thanks!
     
  2. bigd73

    bigd73 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's weird. You should be able to flash 2.1 still as the bootloader was not updated. Try posting for help at Rootz Wiki. This is definitely a new problem. It is also possible you got a bad SBF for 2.1 and a different file could help? Of course I'm just shooting in the dark here.
     
  3. AesirX

    AesirX Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    It is weird... before I used the 2.2 SBF, I had used the 2.1 one several times with no problem.
     
  4. Abe21599

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +30
  5. AesirX

    AesirX Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, I knew all that. I never ran the OTA update. Problem is, I would like to, in order to have bootloader 30.03, but I can't restore the 2.1 SBF since I ran the 2.2 SBF, which seems strange since the 2.2 SBF didn't seem to change the bootloader. The 2.2 SBF still works fine for me and I'm not bricked or anything, but I don't think it's possible to install the full OTA update inside of 2.2.
     
  6. Abe21599

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +30
    you werent supposed to use the 2.2 sbf unless you took the ota update because of different ways the bootloader was signed.

    whats the reason you want the new version of the bootloader?
     
  7. AesirX

    AesirX Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Crud... Well, I had heard the new bootloader overclocks better (probably not true) and I would rather be running a bootloader version that was actually released by verizon instead of a leak, in case I need to return it for any reason.
     
  8. bigd73

    bigd73 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, I was thinking about this last night and I think I know what the problem is. Let's try and make the system a clean slate before attempting the SBF. Download Koush's Bootstrap and boot into recovery if you don't have it, make an archive of your current rom and follow the steps below.

    1. Select - mounts and storage
    2. Format data, cache, system, and boot.

    If it won't let you format system, try mounting it first. I believe it has to be unmounted in order to format though.

    3. Now reboot your phone and try the SBF.

    Let me know how this works out for you.
     
  9. AesirX

    AesirX Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sounds like a plan. Think I should do the 2.1 SBF and try the OTA or go straight for the 2.2 and see if that gets me to 30.03? I think I'm leaning towards doing 2.1...
     
  10. bigd73

    bigd73 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you SBF to 2.2 without doing the OTA, it will not update your bootloader and a few other things. I recommend SBF'ng to 2.1 and then getting the OTA.
     
  11. AesirX

    AesirX Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Clockworkmod didn't allow me to format boot. Also, tried sbf_flash in linux... no go, can't get to 2.1, stuck at bootloader 30.01...
     
  12. v4npro

    v4npro Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was on 2.3.15 leaked and did the full 2.2 SBF because I read somewhere it was suppose to update the bootloader as well as radio and kernel but I'm still on the 30.01 bootloader too however the radio and kernel got updated. Oh well.
     
  13. AesirX

    AesirX Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Me too, seems there's a ton of misinformation floating around about these SBF's. It would be nice if someone who had something to do with them like p3droid chimed in.
     
  14. luv2increase

    luv2increase Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    That doesn't make any sense. I flashed one of my 2.1 Droid X phones with the full 2.2 SBF OTA, and it changed everything to the newest veresion.

    Bootloader went from 30.01 to 30.03
    Baseband went from 06 to 07
    etc...


    Are you sure you used the full SBF and not just the SYSTEM SBF? You couldn't have used the FULL SBF.
     
  15. bigd73

    bigd73 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    The only way to tell is by loading the SBF in RSDlite and looking for the Bootloader info. If it's N/A then it is not a full SBF. I've downloaded many SBFs that claimed to be "full" and none of them have the bootloader. Any suggestions? Could you check your SBF and let me know if it has the Bootloader info in RSDlite?



    Your phone is not allowing a format of boot, but that shouldn't really be an issue as the phone is still running the old Boot Loader. Did you try posting your problem on rootzwiki or MyDroidWorld? Koush or P3Droid should be able to help you out. I don't think your phone is a lost cause yet. Maybe if we actually get you one of these full SBFs then you'll be able to update to 2.2.
     
Search tags for this page

mb810 bootloader version