1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

updating a eris root

Discussion in 'HTC Droid Eris' started by Forcedbyhatred, Jan 5, 2011.

  1. Forcedbyhatred
    Offline

    Forcedbyhatred New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    well i came into having my old eris back which had since been rooted and i went thru these directions on here
    How To Downgrade your Rooted HTC Eris back to 1.5 - HTC Eris Root How To's - TheFuzz4.net

    to go back to 1.5 and i assume un root? being this was the site it was rooted from.

    now is eris on 2.1 or still 1.5
    do i need to have it connected to a service plan to update if thats the case. i want to give it to my gf close to stock as possible since her ally is crap
  2. Irie_Feeling
    Offline

    Irie_Feeling New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Washington
    Eris is on and stuck on 2.1 Go to your about phone in your setting, check for an update. I do assume you need a data plan to do this otherwise where are you going to download the update from.
  3. Forcedbyhatred
    Offline

    Forcedbyhatred New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah that's what I figured. I just hoped I wouldn't have to link it up to my phone to update to 2. 1

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  4. Irie_Feeling
    Offline

    Irie_Feeling New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Washington
    well if the phone doesnt even have service what do you care to update for. If your giving it to your girl once she concects it you can do the update for it
  5. Bob Dammit
    Offline

    Bob Dammit Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
    What are you trying to do, and why? Dont go flashing back to 1.5, or anything just yet. Thats an easy way to mess up your phone. Let me know WHAT you are hoping to accomplish, and I'll help you out.
  6. ChiefOdie
    Offline

    ChiefOdie New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Why go through that stuff!

    Look in the market for the 1touch eris root app, then head over to the XDA forum for a Froyo ROM!

    Sent from my FroyoEris using DroidForums App