Updates Fail?

Discussion in 'ChevyNo1' started by MaddCyentist, Sep 22, 2010.

  1. MaddCyentist
    Offline

    MaddCyentist New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm having a lot of problems with the apps wanting to update but in the end, it says that "update failed". Also this is happening a lot with trying to install new apps. Anyone else having this type of problem and how do you fix it.

    I'm using SS 4.7, 1ghz w/ Launcher Pro
  2. joebetsill
    Offline

    joebetsill New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have this problem a lot, too. I've found that sometimes it is caused by moving an app to the SD card before it is "officially" allowed and then attempting to install the update that allows to move to the SD card. (That sentence is confusing!) In short, if the failing app is on the SD card, try moving it back to the phone first.

    That being said, I still have apps that randomly won't successfully install. So, a more technical answer from someone would be wonderful. :)
  3. yakitori
    Offline

    yakitori Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    DFW Texas
    many times its because of the app you currently have on your phone. Sometimes you just have to delete/uninstall the current app....then go back to market and reinstall it.


    Be warned about doing this with system apps though. Delete it...and there isnt a way to get it back unless you restore a nandroid backup.

    Some stand alone apps you can just use root explorer and change the app name to (ex: rootexplorer.apk to rootexplorer.apk.bak). It will remain where it is...but installer may not recognize it. Then attempt to install the new app....if it works...no probs...then you can delete the .bak file and keep the new app.

    If it doesnt work...you can change the name back to rootexplorer.apk

    and it will restore the working app.
  4. ecfiffer
    Offline

    ecfiffer New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i too get this error from time to time but have found that 99% of the time its when i'm updating a few apps at the same time. usually i just re-run the download. with that being said i'd like to get the new build of launcher pro and its booming on me. i have ran both chevy's and RM fix permissions with no luck...
  5. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    IF you use my Tools to delete the app (the list is growing and more apps added in 4.8), they get backed up to SD, and simply selecting them again in Tools will recover the app for you, no need to nandroid.
  6. brad r
    Offline

    brad r New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've had this problem with several apps, and usually I just uninstall it through system > applications, and then install it through the market, and that does the trick.

    This didn't work for the gmail update, and for that I had to uninstall using titanium, reboot, and then install the apk. Chevy's tools doesn't have an option to uninstall gmail.

    It also didn't work for the google goggles update, and that was fixed by going into the /data/data directory and deleting the google goggles folder there, rebooting, and then installing through the market. Chevy's tools does have a script to uninstall google goggles, but it didn't work for me.

    I would try the first method first, followed by the other methods if you need to. Usually if I have a problem with an app, it goes away after that. Chevy mentioned awhile ago that it might have something to do with the way rstapps restores your apps.
  7. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    And both of your issues with gmail/goggles should be resolved, with options for both in Tools, in 4.8
  8. atticus
    Offline

    atticus New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    And we should expect 4.8......... :)
  9. y0rk
    Offline

    y0rk New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have noticed that most of the failing update problems for me come with apps that are included as system apps and have at one time or another been updated by Google and the market installs them alongside the existing app. The OS is smart enough to use the correct one and access the app data but future updates don't seem to process the path to the app data correctly and then can't verify they are upgrading the correct app. That being said, deleting the davlik cache is usually the farthest i've had to go to fix an issue with it.
  10. MaddCyentist
    Offline

    MaddCyentist New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Still having trouble updating apps after loading 4.8.
    I moved the apps to the phone memory and tried to update, phone to SD and I tried uninstalling and reinstalling and now i have lost my handcentsms. Sad times. Still loving 4.8 though. Any suggestions?
  11. ecfiffer
    Offline

    ecfiffer New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    have you tried running chevy's fix permissions? i also run RM fix permissions as well. (although i bet they are identical) when i get errors i will try either of those steps first. i am trying clearing the dalvik cache right now because i'm tryin to get the updated build of car home...
  12. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    You can also try, settings>applications>manage applications>all>market>clear data and cache, reboot, try to update again
  13. spiller37
    Offline

    spiller37 New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have this problem quite frequently. To get the apps to update/install I fire up Titanium backup. Make a backup of the app. Use Titanium backup to wipe data. Back to the market to install/update the app. Then back to Titanium backup and restore data only. This has worked for every app that would not install from the market on the first run. I don't even have to reboot with this method.
  14. elucid
    Offline

    elucid New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Jose
    Nice. That is a good solution.
Similar Threads
  1. hortonj54
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    742
  2. andyc83
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    851
  3. kn0wsk1ll
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    766
  4. Ansa82
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    1,100
  5. scorer1
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    1,856
Loading...
Search tags for this page

android app updates fail

,

droid update fail

,
update failed droid
,
updates fail on droid 2 phone