Updated to 2.3.340 - Was rooted, now not

Discussion in 'Droid X Tech Support' started by PS3Gamer, Dec 22, 2010.

  1. PS3Gamer

    PS3Gamer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was working great until I decided to update the phone since I recieved the message for an update. I unfroze everything but didn't unroot. After the install I opened up titanium backup and wanted to freeze aps, but it wouldn't work because I wasn't rooted. I opened terminal emulator and typed "su" and got a "permission denied". I still appear rooted and still have the .apk and other root files still on the phone along with the superuser icon.

    I tried rooting again but kept getting error messages saying I am denied in the terminal emulator commands..

    Suggestions?
     
  2. PS3Gamer

    PS3Gamer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would LOVE to have the root apps back, since I paid money for the titanium backup pro..
     
  3. Dustin.

    Dustin. Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Joplin, Missouri
    Ratings:
    +0
    Which method are you trying to use?

    Try using z4Root. If that doesn't work you'll have to do it the manual way.
    Here <-- Works for D2 and DX.
     
  4. the5barrons

    the5barrons Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Make sure you battery pull once.

    "what evrrrrr"
     
  5. PS3Gamer

    PS3Gamer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I tried the battery pull and still I'm denied. I will try the sdroot thing.. I can't even type in "su" because I'm always denied...

    What if I do a factory reset again and DON'T sync my data to my phone and root it BEFORE I sync up all the data? Could be my last option here..
     
  6. Dustin.

    Dustin. Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Joplin, Missouri
    Ratings:
    +0
    You've lost root when you updated to .340.

    Refer to my post above and just follow those instructions, you should have ninja privileges in no time!
     
  7. PS3Gamer

    PS3Gamer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0