Updated to 2.2... LOST ROOT. Anyone else?

Discussion in 'Droid X Hacks' started by HackerCity, Aug 20, 2010.

  1. HackerCity
    Offline

    HackerCity Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NM
    Ratings:
    +0
    I updated to 2.2. I lost root. Has this happened to anyone else?
  2. balticzar
    Offline

    balticzar Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    North East
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah. Happened to me too. Waiting for help from the gurus. Phone says I'm still rooted but all rooted apps do not work. Oh well. Just gotta wait for help from these pros. Until then...sit back, relax and play with Froyo.
  3. avt123
    Offline

    avt123 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Interesting. I stayed rooted and everything works perfectly. I hope someone is able to help you guys out.
  4. jdltek
    Offline

    jdltek New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I lost root as well. I didn't perform the following steps first.....

    open rootexplorer
    navigate to the /system/bin folder and hold down the su file, then select move
    navigate to the /system/xbin folder and press the menu button (4 squares)
    select edit and then paste


    Does anyone know how to regain root after making this mistake?
  5. Happystranger
    Offline

    Happystranger Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Rialto, CA
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'm in the same boat as you guys. Show's I'm rooted, but no access.

    Jdltek - Try this:

    Run "./su" it to get a root terminal from /system/xbin/su
    You should see a #
    Run "mount -o rw,remount /dev/block/system /system"
    Run "mv /system/bin/su /system/bin/su.bak"
    Run "cd /system/xbin/"
    Run "cp su ../bin/"
  6. dunamis
    Offline

    dunamis Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    same boat....I was too quick too update. I just updated with the update.zip on my root sd card.
  7. jdltek
    Offline

    jdltek New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Happystranger - it won't let me run su because although I was rooted before the upgrade I didn't move the files to the xbin folder. Now my file system is read only.
  8. Happystranger
    Offline

    Happystranger Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Rialto, CA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Sorry, I got that from another guy in MyDroidWorld. I'm trying all forums to try and get my SU back. Kinda wish I had my Droid 1 back now lol, Recovery, Choose Backup, Run, Reboot---:( miss those days.
  9. drewlamo1
    Offline

    drewlamo1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    im not 100% positive on this but i think if you upgraded without root you gotta sbf back to 2.1 and redo it.

    Unless someone puts out a new root method.

    not %100 on that but i havent read anywhere about a straight root method from stock 2.2.

    maybe the alternate download in the news section with 2.2 root might work?

    good luck to you
  10. hoodboogie
    Offline

    hoodboogie New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Kailua, HI
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same thing happened to me. UGH!
  11. ccomengee86
    Offline

    ccomengee86 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I love mine. No problems at all. Everything runs faster. Wifi tethering and root only apps works just fine.

    I did remove the ATK though. It runs WAY smooth without it.
  12. Sydman
    Offline

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,527
    Likes Received:
    284
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +298
    Yeah same here I was rooted with the Easy root PC app, followed instructions on moving the su to the other folder. Renamed all the bloatware back, upgraded, then got rid of bloatware again. Left all my root only programs and them and everything else is working fine.
  13. blueb0x
    Offline

    blueb0x New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    lost root here.
  14. richjacksonkc
    Offline

    richjacksonkc Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Kansas City
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had the same issue at first, but at some point the issue cleared itself up and I now have full root.. I may have rebooted the phone, but other than that I didn't do anything out of the ordinary..


    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  15. aaronc_98
    Offline

    aaronc_98 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    lost root too. Hope someone can figure this out. I dont want to use SBF and start over. Help...

    thanks,

    AC