Updated to 2.2... LOST ROOT. Anyone else?

Discussion in 'Droid X Hacks' started by HackerCity, Aug 20, 2010.

  1. HackerCity
    Offline

    HackerCity New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NM
    I updated to 2.2. I lost root. Has this happened to anyone else?
  2. balticzar
    Offline

    balticzar New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North East
    Yeah. Happened to me too. Waiting for help from the gurus. Phone says I'm still rooted but all rooted apps do not work. Oh well. Just gotta wait for help from these pros. Until then...sit back, relax and play with Froyo.
  3. avt123
    Offline

    avt123 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Interesting. I stayed rooted and everything works perfectly. I hope someone is able to help you guys out.
  4. jdltek
    Offline

    jdltek New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I lost root as well. I didn't perform the following steps first.....

    open rootexplorer
    navigate to the /system/bin folder and hold down the su file, then select move
    navigate to the /system/xbin folder and press the menu button (4 squares)
    select edit and then paste


    Does anyone know how to regain root after making this mistake?
  5. Happystranger
    Offline

    Happystranger New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rialto, CA
    I'm in the same boat as you guys. Show's I'm rooted, but no access.

    Jdltek - Try this:

    Run "./su" it to get a root terminal from /system/xbin/su
    You should see a #
    Run "mount -o rw,remount /dev/block/system /system"
    Run "mv /system/bin/su /system/bin/su.bak"
    Run "cd /system/xbin/"
    Run "cp su ../bin/"
  6. dunamis
    Offline

    dunamis New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    same boat....I was too quick too update. I just updated with the update.zip on my root sd card.
  7. jdltek
    Offline

    jdltek New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Happystranger - it won't let me run su because although I was rooted before the upgrade I didn't move the files to the xbin folder. Now my file system is read only.
  8. Happystranger
    Offline

    Happystranger New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rialto, CA
    Sorry, I got that from another guy in MyDroidWorld. I'm trying all forums to try and get my SU back. Kinda wish I had my Droid 1 back now lol, Recovery, Choose Backup, Run, Reboot---:( miss those days.
  9. drewlamo1
    Offline

    drewlamo1 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    im not 100% positive on this but i think if you upgraded without root you gotta sbf back to 2.1 and redo it.

    Unless someone puts out a new root method.

    not %100 on that but i havent read anywhere about a straight root method from stock 2.2.

    maybe the alternate download in the news section with 2.2 root might work?

    good luck to you
  10. hoodboogie
    Offline

    hoodboogie New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kailua, HI
    Same thing happened to me. UGH!
  11. ccomengee86
    Offline

    ccomengee86 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I love mine. No problems at all. Everything runs faster. Wifi tethering and root only apps works just fine.

    I did remove the ATK though. It runs WAY smooth without it.
  12. Sydman
    Offline

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,428
    Likes Received:
    208
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Yeah same here I was rooted with the Easy root PC app, followed instructions on moving the su to the other folder. Renamed all the bloatware back, upgraded, then got rid of bloatware again. Left all my root only programs and them and everything else is working fine.
  13. blueb0x
    Offline

    blueb0x New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    lost root here.
  14. richjacksonkc
    Offline

    richjacksonkc New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City
    I had the same issue at first, but at some point the issue cleared itself up and I now have full root.. I may have rebooted the phone, but other than that I didn't do anything out of the ordinary..


    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  15. aaronc_98
    Offline

    aaronc_98 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    lost root too. Hope someone can figure this out. I dont want to use SBF and start over. Help...

    thanks,

    AC
  16. Noflex
    Offline

    Noflex New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    First post here thought I'd share my experience today with this.

    PLayed a few times with the froyo unofficial update on the X.

    First round got that logwrapper bs. Fixed, sbf'd back to 2.1, rooted. Then Froyo'd

    NOTICED my rooting failed. Messed it up I guess.

    Cleaned cache, wiped data, SBF'd then Froyo'd No root, just wanted to see it for what it was.

    Got bored, cleared cache, wiped data, SBF'd, THEN ROOTED then Froyo'd
    Then Lost root pretty sure I did it right as I ran my root apps. Then they stopped functioning.

    Tried to rename using root explorer and would;nt R/O anymore.

    All I did was do a reset using quickboot (which needs root) asked for permission and it was a go.

    Came back with root. SO reset maybe? But seriously like sbf'd 3-4 times today. 2.1->2.2->2.1->2.2->....... blah not messing with it anymore. It works, I'll try to help if I can but sbf is needed for sure.
  17. fwaggle
    Offline

    fwaggle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you still have a working busybox, this might track down where you put su:

    busybox find /system -perm -2000 -print

    If it spits out something like /system/xbin/su or /system/xbin/suwhoopsitypoed, then type that entire command in (including the full path) and you should get root privs.

    If you didn't copy su, then after the update su is clobbered and set non-suid, so you'll have lost root.

    I believe the only way out of that is to SBF back to 2.1 (see "Unbricking your DroidX" thread), rooting, and then re-upgrading following the instructions carefully.
  18. aaronc_98
    Offline

    aaronc_98 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Thanks. i didnt copy the file before the update so I guess that I will have to SBF back to 2.1 and do it right, unless someone comes up with a way to root 2.2 before i get around to it...

    thanks,

    AC
  19. tony1208
    Offline

    tony1208 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dam I am in the same boat also...freaking droid-life did not mention moving the su file over to keep root...I really don't want to sbf flash ....

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  20. JMC1018
    Offline

    JMC1018 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    i also lost root when i updated. thing is i copied the file to where it was suppose to go and still lost it. no big deal im sure there will be a fix soon