***Updated*** Easy Root Available. 3 step process

Discussion in 'Thunderbolt Hacks' started by cnmsales, Mar 26, 2011.

  1. Ibota IT Consulting

    Ibota IT Consulting New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Works great!

    Thanks, everyone. Daethian, your summary was invaluable--without it I would not have thought to disable Fast Boot.


    Notes to would be rooters:
    • I had to exit rooter.exe and restart after each step.
    • I had to run Step 3 3x times before it actually rebooted my phone (and granted root access).
    Thanks again and happy rooting!
    -Roland
     
    #349 Ibota IT Consulting, Apr 14, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2011
  2. hellfire

    hellfire Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0

    What did you do to fix the permission issue? Mine is doing the exact same. And I noticed that it actually doesn't allow any applications to run requiring root. I have the SU app and the phone went through all 3 steps seemingly perfect. Not sure what happened.

    Thanks,
    Tyler
     
  3. Ibota IT Consulting

    Ibota IT Consulting New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    "an error occurred while attempting to run privileged commands"

    I had the same issue. I just ran Step 3 three times until is actually rebooted by phone, then on reboot that went away.

    -Roland
     
  4. hellfire

    hellfire Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hahah. Well that was easy enough. Guess I just had to click it once more. All good now, thanks!
     
  5. MCdevil58

    MCdevil58 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do i have to have ADB installed on my cpu for this to work or do i just open the program and start with step 1
     
  6. 1android

    1android Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    seems like there are sooooo many people that are getting stuck or frustrated with this "EASY" method. I think I'm gonna just do the long manual option. it looks like it takes longer but there is a great video with step by step instructions. For a person like myself who has never rooted, I need step by step talk to me like I am a ratard type of thing.
     
  7. billjohnson

    billjohnson Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Somewhere, IL
    Ratings:
    +0
    Maybe threatening the easy method will work. Right when I was going to perform the manual root (extremely easy anyways...) this method worked for me. Odd.
     
  8. armeddroid

    armeddroid Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,637
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Traffic Capital
    Ratings:
    +30
    I wonder when UNREVOKED will have the TBOLT rooting process ready.
    I hear its much easier then this "easy method"
     
  9. MCdevil58

    MCdevil58 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    i got root to work but for some reason i have the old market on my phone again

    EDIT: nvm fixed itself
     
    #357 MCdevil58, Apr 18, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2011
  10. RVC

    RVC Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Successful! After 3 hours!
     
    #358 RVC, Apr 18, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2011
  11. RPXZ

    RPXZ New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Unfortunately, it's not an easy method.
     
  12. Angeliksmyle

    Angeliksmyle New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Maybe

    OK... just helping out a little. It may seem like the dumbest response ever... but after 2 or 3 times of repeating step 3.... I found out my debugging was staying on... so, I turned it off and WAHLAAA.... CWMod allowed permissions.

    I'm not an expert in this stuff at all. I have no idea if this would even make a difference, or if it was just a coincidence... but maybe it would help someone out.
     
Search tags for this page
droid charge easy root
,
easy root droid charge
,
easy root for thunderbolt
,

easy root thunderbolt

,
failed to set prot mask
,
failed to set prot mask (inappropriate ioctl for device)
,
failed to set prot mask (inappropriate ioctl for device) psn
,

mmap() failed. operation not permitted

,
one step root
,
root droid charge easy