***Updated*** Easy Root Available. 3 step process

Discussion in 'Thunderbolt Hacks' started by cnmsales, Mar 26, 2011.

  1. jawa6969

    jawa6969 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    Frig!! Clicked STEP 2 and Got the ERROR to contact someone at chat.andirc.net

    Where do I go from here?

    I am not in a bootloader screen on the phone, it is in android.
     
  2. cnmsales

    cnmsales Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    593
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you get this error before or after the hash?
     
  3. jawa6969

    jawa6969 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    Crap!! I don't know. I followed the instructions to a tee. During step 1 I chose the bootloader option and pressed power. The ROM flashed and said complete. I pressed power to reboot and it went into Android. I skipped the google setup. Turned USB debugging back on, unplugged the device and plugged it back in. Made sure it was on charge only. Nothing happened on the Easy Rooter screen. So I clicked step 2. Got the error right away. Here is what I see:

    ERROR! Contact someone at chat.andirc.net in channel #thunderbolt. DO NOT REBOOT.Choose the bootloader option and press POWER. Allow the firmware to flash by pressing VOLUME UP. When finished please reboot into Android as you will have S-OFF.

    Again, after rebooting turn USB Debugging back on and unplug your phone and plug it in again.


    The phone is plugged in and sitting in android with USB debugging and charge only selected. What's my next step? Click Step 2 again?
     
  4. cnmsales

    cnmsales Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    593
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah try step two again. Make sure you have debugging on and are in charge only mode.
     
  5. jawa6969

    jawa6969 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    Whew... Making some progress now. Finished flashing hbooteng.nb0

    Thanks for holding my hand through this. Beverage of choice on me if we ever cross paths in real life. :)
     
  6. cnmsales

    cnmsales Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    593
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Good deal, also if you check my original post ive attached a PDF with pretty good instructions on doing this.
     
  7. drew

    drew Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    This wipes your phone, correct? Is there going to be a rooting solution (similar to Soup or Root, Z4Root) that doesn't?
     
  8. cnmsales

    cnmsales Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    593
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Drew, yes this does whipe your phone. Who knows if we will ever get a 1 click root that doesnt wipe your phone.

    I can tell you this. Rooting then using set cpu to underclock when the screen is OFF makes a HUGE difference on the battery.
     
  9. cnmsales

    cnmsales Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    593
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    @jawa - were you @? You went quiet on me.
     
  10. jawa6969

    jawa6969 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    I read through your PDF. It states step 3 should reboot my phone. I cannot get step 3 to reboot my phone. Easy Rooter is showing:

    Please make sure USB Debugging is on and you have already removed and replaced the usb cord to your phone to ensure it it registers.
    Mounting /system
    Copying su and changing permissions.
    Reboot 2 or 3 times then open RomManager and intall the Thunderbolt recovery by clicking "Flash ClockworkMod Recovery".
     
  11. cnmsales

    cnmsales Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    593
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah seems to be a common problem. Unplug phone wait 5 seconds, plug back in and make sure debug and charge only are on. Then try step 3 again.
     
  12. jawa6969

    jawa6969 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    Should I just reboot the phone and flash clockwork via RomManager as the Easy Rooter states?
     
Search tags for this page
droid charge easy root
,
easy root droid charge
,
easy root for thunderbolt
,

easy root thunderbolt

,
failed to set prot mask
,
failed to set prot mask (inappropriate ioctl for device)
,
failed to set prot mask (inappropriate ioctl for device) psn
,

mmap() failed. operation not permitted

,
one step root
,
root droid charge easy