***Updated*** Easy Root Available. 3 step process

Discussion in 'Thunderbolt Hacks' started by cnmsales, Mar 26, 2011.

  1. jhov81

    jhov81 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Now i have root i want to get rid of all the bloat but i dont want to flash a rom yet. I backed up all my apps with titanium backup. Can i just delete or freeze the unwanted apps via titanium or do i need another app to delete them?
     
  2. Capt.D

    Capt.D Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Alabama
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would freeze them...I have know of issues in the past deleting them...you can delete them with Root Explorer if you desire...
     
  3. cnmsales

    cnmsales Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    593
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I personally use an app called system app remover. You have to be careful with what you delete as it can mess the system up. Just make sure you create a stock backup of your ROM before removing anything. So you can go back to it should something get messed up.
     
  4. H4zyBuddha

    H4zyBuddha Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesnowta
    Ratings:
    +0
    2 tries on step one and 2 attempts on step 3 and I'm rooted. Piece of cake, kick ass job everyone. Thank you all!

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
     
  5. bluefire7002

    bluefire7002 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    UGHHH dont know what the hell just happened... I had to unplug and restart the program couple of times throughout the process... but I managed to get through everything... Step 3 came and phone DID restart.
    the program said You now have a fully rooted Thunderbolt with S-OFF. Congradulations!

    yet I DONT have root access???

    so frustrated it whiped all my stuff for NO root access
     
  6. H4zyBuddha

    H4zyBuddha Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesnowta
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try step 3 again. Mine flipped through step 3 so fast and all I caught was the you are rooted thing. Super user requests were errors so I unplugged the phone, made sure debug and charge only were on and ran 3 again. Ran really fast again and reported my phone, and boom, I'm rooted

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
     
  7. cnmsales

    cnmsales Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    593
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah do step 3 again. Sometimes you have to do it 2 or 3 times before it sticks.
     
  8. mikeyo1990

    mikeyo1990 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    help please

    Ok Guys I am about to go crazy with this thing every time that I plug my phone in and run step 1 of this, windows error screens pop up saying that the files cant be found for each part of step 1 any help is appreciated.
     
  9. H4zyBuddha

    H4zyBuddha Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesnowta
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you download the correct files? Start over with the newest download available on the xda thread linked on the op. Download and install the HTC sync drivers before starting step one. Every problem has been addressed in either this thread or the xda one, just for further support if we can't help.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
     
  10. mikeyo1990

    mikeyo1990 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    Ok just to make sure there is the rooter2.exe which is a zip file and then the only other file that I see is one named thunderboltroot(1).rar
    Are these correct?
    And yes I do have the htc sync drivers and followed all directions of phone setup just not sure what to do with that .rar file
     
    #154 mikeyo1990, Mar 29, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2011
  11. H4zyBuddha

    H4zyBuddha Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesnowta
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm not super knowledgable nor at my computer, but I used the recommended program to open the file I downloaded from xda. I opened the rooter.exe and it popped open the thunderbolt rooted program. I followed the steps, doing a few steps multiple times, and bam

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
     
  12. bluefire7002

    bluefire7002 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Can I still redo step 3 even though it logged into my Google an restore all my apps an stuff? I got tired last night and called it a night and woke up today wanting to finish this
     
Search tags for this page
droid charge easy root
,
easy root droid charge
,
easy root for thunderbolt
,

easy root thunderbolt

,
failed to set prot mask
,
failed to set prot mask (inappropriate ioctl for device)
,
failed to set prot mask (inappropriate ioctl for device) psn
,

mmap() failed. operation not permitted

,
one step root
,
root droid charge easy