[HACKS] UPDATED Droid RAZR Utility [WINDOWS]

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Hacks' started by mattlgroff, Feb 14, 2012.

  1. SANhacker

    SANhacker Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Arizona
    Ratings:
    +7
    FoxKat,
    From the folder view shown in the first post I just dragged the bat file to my desktop and selected "Create Shortcut Here". I just click on the Icon and the utility fires up.
     
  2. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,841
    Likes Received:
    4,770
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,309
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    Thanks for the info. I will give that a try when I get home but I don't know why it would work any different as a shortcut versus simply running the bat file from within the folder. For now, I'm at work and will try here as well but if it works here, that doesn't mean it will work at home for sure. I'll report back if it works there too.
     
  3. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,841
    Likes Received:
    4,770
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,309
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    OK, not sure if this is what I would expect, but it only works on my office PC if the entire collection of files is extracted to the root c:\ directory. If it's anywhere else (like extracted to desktop), it will either not run when called directly from within the folder, or if called from a command prompt directly while in the folder will not find the fastboot image.
     
  4. mattlgroff

    mattlgroff Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    San Diego
    Ratings:
    +0
    That is definitely strange. I can run them off my USB drive, C drive downloads, documents, anywhere. As long as the .bat and the /files/ flolder are in the same directory (like the picture)
     
  5. SANhacker

    SANhacker Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Arizona
    Ratings:
    +7
    Sorry. Not Sure I understand. We are talking basic DOS/Windows stuff here.

    Don't extract to C:\ as this will throw a bunch of files at your root directory.

    Try this:
    Click on the zip file.
    From a view of the zip file contents do the following:

    These contents can be seen in the folder view in post #1 of this thread.

    Press Ctrl+A (This selects all the files)
    Press Ctrl+C (This copies all the files to your notepad)
    Go to My Computer via Start or the vehicle of your choice.
    Click on Drive C. Or the drive you want to store the utility on. It is 2.8GB so if you have multiple drives this may be a concern.
    Right click and Select "New". Then Select "Folder"
    Give the Folder a Name. Take a pick. Doesn't matter what you call it.
    Double Click on the newly named folder.
    It will appear empty.
    Press Ctrl+V (Paste)
    All the files from your extracted folder are now copied into the folder you just created.
    Now,from the folder view you are now presented with you should have a .bat file.
    Left click this file and drag it from the folder to your desktop.
    You will now be presented with a menu of options.
    One of these options will be "Create Shortcut Here". Select it.
    If you now click on the resulting icon, you will be taken directly to the utility.
    BTW, if you select the Icon with your mouse and click on the text, you can rename it to your liking.
    There is no need for all that shortcut.lnk stuff in the ICON name.

    Let me know of any questions. I'm simply a click away from the utility at anytime. Awesome work!
     
  6. mattlgroff

    mattlgroff Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    San Diego
    Ratings:
    +0
    Changes are mainly in the fastboot files. I'd be happy for someone to take up the GSM version, but I don't have a GSM XT910 to test this on, and there are many carriers making things like the fastboot files very different.
     
  7. thaDroidz

    thaDroidz Silver Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,058
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    neptune
    Ratings:
    +42
    worked like a champ 2.3.6 now my Razr is truely MAXX'ed
    some bones sent Matt's way...
     
  8. mattlgroff

    mattlgroff Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    San Diego
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks man. Truly appreciate it
     
  9. AryuSyrius

    AryuSyrius New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does this utility support the RAZR Maxx as well?
     
  10. thaDroidz

    thaDroidz Silver Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,058
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    neptune
    Ratings:
    +42
    Both same software ..
    Did my maxx last night.. 5 minutes or so and i was rooted..
    Do #2 then i installed voodoo root keeper (forget what #) then i went with bootstrap for recovery...
    Phone will reboot 3 or 4 times

    ----posted maxx'ed out----
     
    #34 thaDroidz, Feb 18, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2012
  11. AryuSyrius

    AryuSyrius New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Good to know. Thank you.
     
  12. thaDroidz

    thaDroidz Silver Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,058
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    neptune
    Ratings:
    +42
    Edited... ^

    ----posted maxx'ed out----
     
Search tags for this page
droid razr infopreflash validation failure
,
droidrazrutility
,

droid razr utility

,
droid razr utility 1.51 download
,
droid razr utility download
,
droid razr utility xt910
,
infopreflash validation failure
,
preflash validation failed
,
preflash validation faliure razr m
,
razricsbootstrap.apk