Update

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by Chris.Inc2, Dec 21, 2011.

  1. Chris.Inc2
    Offline

    Chris.Inc2 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atl
    I would like to have the official update,I had so much problem with this phone,I love the bionic, but seriously this is getting old. The phone is driving me crazy, can someone give me some advice?

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  2. Chris.Inc2
    Offline

    Chris.Inc2 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atl
    I'm still running 5.5.893, this sucks i'm ready to throw my phone out the window.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  3. silentsecret
    Offline

    silentsecret New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well first give us info as in what your finding wrong with it?

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  4. silentsecret
    Offline

    silentsecret New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    893 is the latest ota currently as of today. The 901 you have read about is supposedly a accidental release.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  5. Chris.Inc2
    Offline

    Chris.Inc2 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atl
    My phone keep on blinking out when I try to slide my screen on, I stay on 3g& I live in the city. Half the time my web doesn't work at all, my icons just disappear. Just to name a few problems.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  6. rduckwor
    Offline

    rduckwor New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hate to tell you this, but sounds like a factory data reset would help.

    Unfortunately, you will get to set the handset up again if you do this.

    Settings/Privacy/Factory Data Reset.

    If you decide to apply the "accidental" OTA, 5.9.901, do so at your own risk. There is a link on mediafire.com floating around somewhere with the file.

    Moto/VZW uncorked the genie, no putting it back into the bottle now.

    Good Luck,

    RMD
  7. Chris.Inc2
    Offline

    Chris.Inc2 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atl
    Thanks,I have talked to VZW and we have factory set it but to no avail. I don't know if I should call them again I was trying to wait for the official OTA version but this is getting annoying.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  8. rduckwor
    Offline

    rduckwor New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, you can ask them to ship you a refurb handset.

    They seem to think that is the solution to all problems Bionic.

    <EDIT>: There are some reports of them pushing the 5.9.901 OTA to people who have been having data issues.

    You might try that on them.

    Tier Two or three will likely be the ones with the ability to do so if they can do so.

    Good Luck,

    RMD
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2011
  9. Chris.Inc2
    Offline

    Chris.Inc2 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atl
    I pass on the refurbish phone, I'll take my chances and wait. They could at least change the phone, I didn't pay for a used/ refurbished phone, so I surely don't want to settle for less, they should be helping the Bionic owners.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  10. rduckwor
    Offline

    rduckwor New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dude, they helped you by taking your money. Apparently as a VZW customer, you have no right to expect more.

    Bummer, but they will eventually get this right for us. Its the waiting that is the killer.

    Be strong.

    Good Luck,

    RMD
  11. Chris.Inc2
    Offline

    Chris.Inc2 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atl
    Lol, you are so right..all we can do is wait....that's the issue.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  12. nateohio
    Offline

    nateohio New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'll never understand this mentality. Just out of curiosity, When do you consider a phone used? Because for me and most other potential buyers, almost new = Used. Your phone became used the second yo ubroke the seal on the box.

    I've actually had really good luck with the CLNR phones I've gotten from verizon. I've NEVER gotten one that you could actually tell was used, they all have looked new.
  13. ddfuji
    Offline

    ddfuji New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Denver
    Agreed. Good point

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  14. Chris.Inc2
    Offline

    Chris.Inc2 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atl
    I'm just saying as my own preference I'll rather wait for the update than too return the phone too get the same phone that I started off with, I'd just keep my original phone.
    To each its own and you right I opened my box so it made it mine, not a previous user. So again, it's a matter of choice.
    Point taken...Point made!

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  15. KeepInitReel
    Offline

    KeepInitReel New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Petersburg, VA
    A refurbished phone as a replacement for a new phone should also come with a credit for the difference in price. Why pay for new when you actually have a refurb?

    Still rocking the OG Droid using Tapatalk!!!
  16. rduckwor
    Offline

    rduckwor New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, I know what you are saying, but it IS the principle of the thing. Also, I hate to trade the devil I know for one I don't.

    RMD
  17. Chris.Inc2
    Offline

    Chris.Inc2 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atl
    Exactly.....

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  18. Bear in NM
    Offline

    Bear in NM Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,389
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Chris,

    I would only add that if the reset has you back to only having 3g/4g data issues, then you may just be in the same boat as many other users. You noted blinking and apps disappearing. If that is still happening, or you are having other issues that do not seem to be reported in threads here or elsewhere, you might actually have a defective phone.

    Craig
  19. LegalAmerican
    Offline

    LegalAmerican New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    UTAH
    I agree on the refurb thing. I can't stand when they offer a used phone. For all I know it was dropped in someone's toilet after they used it, and Verizon just fixed the problems that was needed and got it working again. I just prefer to know the history of the thing that I place up against the side of my face.