1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Update Roaming/PRL (*228) no longer works after root?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by TJConnery, Feb 10, 2011.

  1. TJConnery
    Offline

    TJConnery New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    I just tried to use *228 to update roaming capability, and it appears that the system does not recognize my touchtones when I try to select option 2.

    Shouldn't this process still work after rooting? I was thinking it is a problem with the dialer on Fission 2.4.3, but the touchtones are recognized by other systems (i.e. checking work voicemail).

    Does *228 work for you in Verizon?


    D2G Global, Fission 2.4.3, Launcher Pro Plus.
  2. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Sometimes Verizons *228 doesn't work. Stuff happens, try it later in the day. Rooting would have nothing to do with this.
  3. TJConnery
    Offline

    TJConnery New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    thanks- verizon swamped already?

    That's what I thought, unrelated. Could Verizon. Be swamped already? iPhone have only been on the street since last weekend!

    I was able to get through on the 6th attempt.

    Thanks!
  4. dmartins
    Offline

    dmartins Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well *22891 worked the 1st time here.
  5. BPIERSON1013
    Offline

    BPIERSON1013 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm having the same issue, I'm using KAOS Froyo v28, and when I use *228, it doesn't even give me a dialpad to hit the numbers. It has nothing to do with Verizon's network, it dials in and i hear "press 2 to update your roaming capabilities". Is this a known issue with Froyo or what?
  6. TJConnery
    Offline

    TJConnery New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    exactly!

    That is exactly the same issue I had. I reopened the phone keypad and hit 2 until it was recognized. Somehow, it worked on the 6th try.
Search tags for this page

*228 doesn't work

,
*228 on rooted phone
,
cant update prl rooted
,

how to update roaming on verizon galaxy s3

,
update roaming capabilities on galaxy 2
,

update roaming rooted verizon phone

,
update roaming verizon rooted
,

verizon number to update towers

,
verizon prl not updating number
,
verizon roaming capabilities number
,

verizon roaming update number

,

verizon tower update number

,

verizon update number *

,

verizon update roaming capabilities number

,

verizon update roaming number