Update or wait?

CMDRSTP

Reaction score
Let my preface this post by stating I am new to smartphones (I recently purchased a Droid Razr Maxx still operating with "Gingerbread") AND I understand this may be subjective and may vary with personal experiences...

From what I have been reading on this forum (and, others), the "ICS" is not overwhelming positive. Heck, it seems like the download is a tossup for people. Some have success. Some don't and find many issues (no Flash support and unusual battery drain as some examples). I am sure there are other possible issues as well.

So my dilemma...to update or continue to run "Gingerbread." I actual enjoy what the phone already does with "Gingerbread."

My first thought was there will be many bugs to fix in the coming weeks or months. I would think that would be expected with any newly released operating system update. But, after seeing so many issues from people who have a VASTLY SUPERIOR knowledge of smartphones than myself, I was thinking it might be best to wait awhile before deciding on the update. Wait to see your experiences and/or of such issues will be resolved.

That said, will I be able to stay with run "Gingerbread" or will I start to notice apps (or the phone itself)not running as smoothly, or at all, after they started to be update or designed to run on "ICS"?

Please understand I am not discrediting "ICS" in any way. I have no experience or expertise to do such. I am just trying to be as informed as possible and make a responsible decision based on the experiences of most and not merely on media hype.

Any thoughts?

Steve

Last edited:

AndroidKachi7

Reaction score