Update or not?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Rider003, Nov 12, 2010.

  1. Rider003

    Rider003 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    so far i've rooted my motorola D1 and currently running 2.2

    However now i'm getting an option to do an update from verizon.

    So my question is:

    Is it safe to run the update?
    will it run the update?
    Lastly, will i lose my root if I do?
     
  2. phaze3131

    phaze3131 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well if you are rooted then you either have either clockwork recover or sbf recover, both of which will block the update so just click to install it and have it reboot and the recoveries will handle the blocking of it.
     
  3. Rider003

    Rider003 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well im new to this..as in 3 days rooted, 2 weeks of owning my first Droid (D1)
    however for some reason i dont have any recovery files, their not on my recovery boot menu. Is thier a seperate flashing process to get them? If not, how do i go about getting them
     
  4. vstarx

    vstarx Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    Ratings:
    +0
    if you are rooted restart your phone holding the X key should take you in to the recovery menu
     
  5. Rider003

    Rider003 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    yea heres what I do
    Power off
    Power on + x -> volume up + camera
    and here's what i get:
    ________________________________________________________________________
    reboot system now
    apply sdcard:update.zip
    wipe cache partition
    wipe baseband data
    ______________________________________________________________________
     
  6. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,346
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    You have stock recovery.

    Does it have an excalmation point with a phone laying down and you have to press volume down and camera button to get there?


    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  7. Rider003

    Rider003 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    yup :/

    do i have to reflash my sbf to get sprecovery?
     
  8. Quicksilver7714

    Quicksilver7714 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,440
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +62
    Yep you have to re-flash the sfb to get SPrecovery.
    Also how did you root in the first place?
     
  9. Rider003

    Rider003 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well after some extra reading i'm beginning to think its not rooted anymore seeing as how i did a complete reset after it going haywire 2 nights ago. Is the update.zip the actual root? cause when i try to install it i get errors
     
  10. Bob Dammit

    Bob Dammit Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
    Ratings:
    +17
    Download Terminal Emulator from the market, open it, type su, and press return. See if your prompt changes. If it doesnt, you are not rooted any more. How did you do a "complete reset"?
     
  11. Rider003

    Rider003 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    well i didn't know it at the time but, i was in the SPrecovery boot option and i kept getting a status 7 error when trying to install update.zip or i could try and just boot the phone and it would get stuck at the motorola icon. So i enabled usb and reflashed it with a differen't sbf file to get out of it. However since then i have reflashed another sbf file courtesy of the rescue squad guys so i'm not running D1 version 2.2 but i have yet to install an update


    Oh and i typed su then hit enter and i got an access denied
     
  12. Bob Dammit

    Bob Dammit Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
    Ratings:
    +17
    access denied = no root. Im also trying to help you on the other thread, I'll go there instead.