Update not good !

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by fnourse, Sep 28, 2011.

  1. fnourse
    Offline

    fnourse New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    silver springs fl
    Got the ota update , now I got no vm notification & I need that more than gb ,called vw no help ,seems they should fix all the bugs b4 they release these updates . Now I'm pissed
  2. pdroid
    Offline

    pdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    You'll have to use Youmail or Google Voice to get VM notifications. I realize that's not a good answer, but the best one can do since VZW pushed out a buggy build.
  3. kevins686
    Offline

    kevins686 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    Is this an intermittent bug, or something that everyone is experiencing?
  4. UNC
    Offline

    UNC New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,359
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fayettenam,NC
    Everyone is experiencing it. This is the update that leaked and they didn't even fix it!!! I think they just had to put out GB as promised before turning their backs on the TB forever.
  5. johnd09
    Offline

    johnd09 New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It was better to push with a minor bug and issue a small update later to fix vm than delay gingerbread anymore.

    Sent from my BAMF'd 'bolt
  6. pdroid
    Offline

    pdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    I couldn't disagree more.
  7. SithDroid2187
    Offline

    SithDroid2187 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    +1, I could have held off another week or two if VM notifications would be fixed.
  8. johnd09
    Offline

    johnd09 New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This has been a problem with many builds before this so it may be a while before a fix is ready.

    Sent from my BAMF'd 'bolt
  9. fnourse
    Offline

    fnourse New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    silver springs fl
    I don't think no vm is a minor thing ,my phone was find b4 this
  10. jsprewell
    Offline

    jsprewell New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was going to unroot to update to GB, but because of the VM bug, I'll wait. I need my VM more than I need GB.
  11. droidking1
    Offline

    droidking1 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Go in to settings , then call settings then click voice mail carrier and check it. Idk if that will help , but my vm works


    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
  12. johnd09
    Offline

    johnd09 New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Custom Gingerbread ROMS can now get voice mail notifications, developers figured out today how to fix the problem. So if you are willing to root you can have Gingerbread and vm notifications.
  13. Chukee
    Offline

    Chukee New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    vm

    I also never had a problem with vm. Like i said about 4 days ago i just couldnt see them holding off gb update for a vm bug unlike the rebooting issue which was a major pain for verizon. Maybe if enough people would complain about it to verizon that are having this issue they will issue out a fix or at least look into it.
  14. droidking1
    Offline

    droidking1 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I didn't check to see if my vm had a problem until after I looked at the settings. Mine was set to not have anyone as the voicemail carrier. I clicked the box then made sure my voicemail notifications worked an hour or two later

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
  15. Kittysback
    Offline

    Kittysback New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a voicemail app on the homepage. If I see someone called, I can tap that and it will tell me if I have a vm.
  16. plongson
    Offline

    plongson New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What's the Name of it?
  17. Beardface
    Offline

    Beardface Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Just use Google Voice. Been using it since I had my OG Droid and would never go back. The app is awesome.
  18. cbryant1809
    Offline

    cbryant1809 New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ....

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
  19. jseah
    Offline

    jseah New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    978
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It is Voicemail. It's part of Sense.
  20. jseah
    Offline

    jseah New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    978
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I did that and it did nothing for me. The VM notification still doesn't show up. I also noticed that if you edit the voicemail number to include your voicemail password, the dialer will still use the stock voicemail number. It won't append your password to the number being dialed.