Update from. 330

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by tranzphormed, Oct 27, 2011.

  1. tranzphormed
    Offline

    tranzphormed New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi,

    I have a rooted d2g with stock rom, I am getting update on air and it downloads . My phone reboots to a triangle and the to home screen giving error message as update failed. Can any one help how to update my phone. My current version is 2.4.330.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  2. silver6054
    Offline

    silver6054 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There are lots of posts on this!

    Quick things:

    1) Need to unroot before updating
    2) All "bloatware" needs to be present. If you have frozen some, unfreeze it, if you have deleted some, you need to get it back (from a backup, from someone else, from SBFing)
    3) If you used bootstrap, you will need to remove it, search for logwrapper in this forum
    4) If you modified any system files, they need to be changed back
  3. oldblackcrow
    Offline

    oldblackcrow New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Athens, GA
    Okay... on this same subject.... my phone was rooted during the update, though I did unfreeze my bloatware before hand. Once the update completed, I was no longer rooted, though Superuser downloaded from the market was still there. I rooted again, but only Bloat Freezer recognized the root, not Titanium Backup or Copy Paste. I then rerooted and still same thing. Any ideas?

    D2G rooted.
  4. silver6054
    Offline

    silver6054 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How did you try to root after the upgrade to Gingerbread? (Don't say Z4root...)
  5. oldblackcrow
    Offline

    oldblackcrow New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Athens, GA
    No, I used one root. I did try z4 after update to GB (not knowing it was not compatible), but it just failed. Since then I've uninstalled z4.

    D2G rooted.
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2011
  6. oldblackcrow
    Offline

    oldblackcrow New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Athens, GA
    Did a root check... here are the results:


    Root Access is not properly configured or was not granted.

    Superuser.apk - com.noshufou.android.su -version 3.0.6 is installed!

    System Environment PATH: /sbin /vendor/bin /system/sbin /system/bin /system/xbin

    The adb binary is set to default shell user access as a standard non-root user

    Standard su binary location: ls -l /system/bin/su: -rwxr-xr-xroot shell 22228 2011-09-26 16:33 su

    Standard su binary location: ls -l /system/xbin/su: -rwsr-xr-xroot root 26264 2010-09-20 10:20 su

    Alternate su binary location: /sbin/su: Permission denied

    Alternate su type binary location: /system/xbin/sudo: No such file or directory

    SU binary not found or not operating properly



    D2G rooted.
  7. silver6054
    Offline

    silver6054 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is this Pete's One Click Root? I would try to unroot and see if that works, then try rooting again.

    Failing that, in the past (after accepting a SU update) I had to SBF back to Froyo and update again. You probably want to avoid that...
  8. oldblackcrow
    Offline

    oldblackcrow New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Athens, GA
    Yes, it was Pete's One Click Root. I will try to unroot first... I did not do that before. I was curious about the SBF, wouldn't it be gingerbread now with the official update? Also, I'm still unclear about CM7... Is that Froyo or GB? Thanks for all your help!

    D2G rooted.
  9. Gasai Yuno
    Offline

    Gasai Yuno New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rausu-cho
    There is no Gingerbread SBF available at the moment.

    There are both Froyo (now EOL) and Gingerbread builds of CM7.
  10. oldblackcrow
    Offline

    oldblackcrow New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Athens, GA
    Gasai, I have to yet again SBF my phone... more dead pixels... ARRG! Anyway, now that I'm running Gingerbread, may I assume it will go back to Froyo? Also, and more importantly, which version of RSD would you recommend? I have 4.8 & 4.9... Thanks again for you knowledge and help!
  11. Gasai Yuno
    Offline

    Gasai Yuno New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rausu-cho
    There's an SBF image for 4.5.608 available, check rootzwiki for example.

    I use RSDLite 5.6.
  12. tranzphormed
    Offline

    tranzphormed New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    can you please provide the link where the SBF image is and also the instructions for it
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2012
  13. Gasai Yuno
    Offline

    Gasai Yuno New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rausu-cho
    tranzphormed, here.
  14. silver6054
    Offline

    silver6054 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, I am not Gasai, but now there is a gingerbread (4.5.608) SBF. See DROID 2 Global 4.5.608 Full SBF Released – Droid Life
    Haven't actually tried it yet, so if you do, let us know!

    Oh, the embedded link on Droid Life goes to megeupload, which has been shut down. You may be able to find the file (VRZ_A956_4.5.608_1FF_01.sbf) elsewhere. Looks like there is one at http://www.theandroidsource.com/dro...8-droid2-global-sbf-rsd-lite-usb-drivers.html
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2012
  15. oldblackcrow
    Offline

    oldblackcrow New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Athens, GA
    Thanks everyone! It all worked and now I have to call asurion to get this piece of crap replaced... again (5th one).

    D2G rooted.
  16. oldblackcrow
    Offline

    oldblackcrow New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Athens, GA
    Addendum: The SBF went fine... however, since my freaking menu button doesn't work, I can't nix my data before I send the phone back. Any suggestions?

    On the upshot, they are out of stock of the D2G and will be sending me a Droid X2. Not my first choice, but at least it's something different with a larger screen. |-) Thanks again guys and gals!
  17. themib
    Offline

    themib Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,436
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
    do you mean stock recovery ?
    x + power press volume buttons when you see android guy and !
    changed with GB
  18. oldblackcrow
    Offline

    oldblackcrow New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Athens, GA
    Ahhh! Never mind... got it! On power up... duh. |-)

    ______________________________________________________________________________
    themib, yes, stock recovery! The tech at assurion didn't know that... LOL. Anyway, just to be clear:

    "x + power press volume buttons when you see android guy and !"

    I'm holding the X and the power button and then when the android guy shows up, press the ! (exclamation point)? Is this with power off? I'm trying it now, but nothing is happening. Thanks a billion!
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2012
  19. themib
    Offline

    themib Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,436
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
    Sorry that wasn't clearer

    Sent from my DROID 2G w/4.5.608 using Droid Forum app
  20. oldblackcrow
    Offline

    oldblackcrow New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Athens, GA
    Here's kind of a related question... albeit, a distant relation. I have many text messages in my old phone and want to port them over to my new phone. I have the Titanium Backup files I made last week from my old phone on the SD card in my new phone... question is, what file holds the text messages? I think Verizon can do this of I asked, but if I don't need to go there, all the better. Thanks!

    D2G rooted.