Update failed?!

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Tech Support' started by droidxd00d, Dec 13, 2011.

  1. das2042
    Offline

    das2042 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did they try flashing your phone there?

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  2. das2042
    Offline

    das2042 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've done this three times already, still can't fund zumocast. My question is if you can uninstall zunocast, why do you need it for download?

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  3. jennandjoey76
    Offline

    jennandjoey76 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have the same problem but I don't have the tool box. No mods, just rooted. Used Pete's. Was wondering if I'm gonna have to factory restore or what. I'm at a loss.
    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
  4. josh1980
    Offline

    josh1980 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    @jennandjoey - You might. I'd try resetting to factory default or try the method I posted that you quoted to see which file is failing. It might be something you can fix. Otherwise a factory default or the software reload using the link I provided previously should fix it.

    If I had known that the toolbox would have modified key system files I wouldn't have installed it in the first place. In fact, I haven't reinstalled the toolbox and I use a battery widget to see the battery %.
  5. bilbobaggins
    Offline

    bilbobaggins New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dartmouth, MA
    You can try this. Registration if free. How to get your phone back on the upgrade path... Download the file in step 2. then get the winimage tool at the link below. It's good for 30 days. You can open the image file to extract the file or files you need. what happened to me was I had 4 files that were altered but the screen on stock recovery only shows the current file that is stopping the install. That's why it's better to have the whole system image. It has all the files you need to replace to stock without reflashing the entire phone.

    http://www.winimage.com/download.htm
    H
    ave fun, it was a quite a process process.
  6. bilbobaggins
    Offline

    bilbobaggins New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dartmouth, MA
    I spent an hour with Tech support trying all the things I had tried during the day. Ended up they are sending me another phone. Probably that's what they will have to do with you. It seems they are not equipped to reflash the phone but I'm sure Motorola is. They probably send all their returns to a repair center to refurbish them. If they don't reflash the boot loader the next owner is going to have the same issue. My error is MTD:BOOT that's where it stops everytime. It has to be the altered kernel.
  7. jennandjoey76
    Offline

    jennandjoey76 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just need that framework-res apk and dont know where to start.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
  8. bilbobaggins
    Offline

    bilbobaggins New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dartmouth, MA
  9. josh1980
    Offline

    josh1980 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    jennandjoey76,
    I can email it to you if you like. PM me with your email. I read about updating the framework-res.apk and I was afraid I would screw up the permissions and some people had mentioned their phone got stuck in a reboot loop because they made the mistake. That's why I used the method to wipe the phone and reinstall the OS from the image while the phone was connected to my computer.
  10. jennandjoey76
    Offline

    jennandjoey76 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was hoping that all I had to do is install that apk and the update would take but I want nothing to do with the reboot loop. I may get ahold of you guys later on for the apk, but until I know its 100% safe, im not gonna touch it.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
  11. buellboy9
    Offline

    buellboy9 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Well, I tried to flash manually, and it wants the DLNA package I uninstalled. Tried to restore it from Titanium Backup, but it just spins and spins and doesn't go anywhere. First time I haven't been able to restore a backed up application. Guess I'm going to have to reflash back to a stock image (with all the bloatware intact) in order to get the upgrade, then painstakingly apply all of my modifications. Doesn't anybody have a rooted, COMPLETE image (not just the update package) of the new maintenance level I could just load up like any other custom ROM??
  12. das2042
    Offline

    das2042 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I finally got mine updated and when I get home ill give my steps. I had The zumocast install failed error

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  13. josh1980
    Offline

    josh1980 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's why I just freeze the apps with Titanium Backup. I'm too skiddish that something will go wrong if I uninstall it(which is what appears to have happened to you). It sucks that phones can't just come without the extra garbage.
  14. SpeedDMN
    Offline

    SpeedDMN New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My sentiments exactly. There should definitely be such an image. It's not like a PC where hardware differences would make such an image useless to anyone without the exact same specs. What will work on one Bionic you would think would work on any Bionic. I too am dreading starting over. I have it right where I want it for the most part. I do get quite a few data connections problems though, especially when traveling. If I stay right in town it doesn't seem to be an issue much. Even less since we got 4GLte (a beautiful thing for sure :)) I'm probably going to hold out for a while to see if anyone comes up with a work around. If nothing comes up in a couple weeks I will likely go the long route. This is actually a serious problem to any of us who like to modify their own property. Verizon is obviously doing their best to make it a pain in the ass for us. I mean if we have to do a damn format every time an update comes out that would suck.
  15. das2042
    Offline

    das2042 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok to do the fix i did. I was rooted, forever rooted and stock. Well as stock as i could be without zumocast, but after puting zumocast in every single folder i possible could i had to come up with a different solution. So what i did was run p2d_targa_cdma_targa-user-2.3.4-5.5.1_84_DBN-55-110814-release-keys-Verizon-US in rsd lite. then i went into R3l3AS3DRoot and ran #4. I figured between doing both that one of them would fix my problem. Then the download worked. i'm now unrooted, but i'm pretty sure theres a fix for that, i just know i have the ota
  16. jennandjoey76
    Offline

    jennandjoey76 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, i did a factory reset and i still get the same error. Probably gonna have to RSD and go that route. Only problem is i couldn't get the 4ever root to work for me. I could only get petes to work. Ill have wait till this weekend so i can have computer access.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
  17. bilbobaggins
    Offline

    bilbobaggins New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dartmouth, MA
    check your settings in Settings/Applications pake sure the Unknown sources is checked and on the same page open Development the top entry USB Debugging needs to be checked. That should get 4ever root to work.
  18. jennandjoey76
    Offline

    jennandjoey76 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I kept getting that adb error. I got to looking around, since i have vista i have to unpack those exe files and that is supposed to get it to work. I dont know, though. I guess i need to rsd and then go forever root way. Ill give it a try tonight or tomorrow.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
  19. jennandjoey76
    Offline

    jennandjoey76 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Fixed! RSD'd the smaller tar.gz file. Hung a little on stage 3 but worked. Then forever rooted (finally worked) then downloaded and installed the OTA.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
  20. deadcatsrule
    Offline

    deadcatsrule New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    just a note I am on my 3rd bionic from verison I will never get another one from them all 3 will not update none have 3 or 4 g most of the time big wast of time and money.I'm no phone tech I don"t have time to try to mess with a junk phone :icon_evil::icon_evil::icon_evil::icon_evil::icon_evil:any one want to buy a phone??
Search tags for this page

droid bionic software update failed

,
droid bionic software update keeps failing
,

droid bionic update failed

,
droid bionic update failure
,
droid bionic updating bp assert failed
,
my droid failing to complete an update keeps
,
razr maxx framework-res
,
software update failed droid bionic
,
software update keeps failing on droid bionic
,
update fails on rooted droid bionic
,
updating system on droid bionic failed droid robot with excl
,
verizon bionic update failed