Update Check

Discussion in 'Motorola Nexus 6' started by kevsgroove, Jan 13, 2016.

  1. kevsgroove

    kevsgroove Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    Ratings:
    +73
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    My Nexus 6 will not automatically check for updates, and when i press the 'check for update' button...........it laughs at me and nothing happens. I have to pull the SIM card in order to have it check. Has anyone else had this occur? Any thoughts on a fix........ I'm currently on MMB29K (purchased from Moto, on verizon).

    Thanks
     
  2. Jeffrey

    Jeffrey Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    6,686
    Likes Received:
    3,548
    Trophy Points:
    1,578
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +4,036
    Current Phone Model:
    iPhone 7 Plus JB
    I have not seen any post or report of this happening. I would do a Factory Reset and see if it solves your issue..
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,484
    Likes Received:
    7,064
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,406
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    I have to agree with Jeffrey. This is the first case of something like this I've seen.

    Since you didn't mention it, I'm assuming you're not rooted and/or running any custom ROM/etc?

    If that's the case, I'd do a Factory Reset for sure.
     
  4. kevsgroove

    kevsgroove Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    Ratings:
    +73
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Nope, not rooted. Just trying to avoid an FDR cause I hate setting everything back up. Good thing is, when an update is available, it does show up. Just doesn't check for one otherwise unless the SIM card is removed.
     
  5. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,484
    Likes Received:
    7,064
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,406
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    It's actually not as bad to fdr and set a phone up if you backed up your apps and settings to Google. When you go to start over, it will ask you if you'd like to set the phone up like a phone you've already used. Select the same phone and at least you don't have to go through and download all of your apps individually. Some will even have saved your app data and the apps will be setup the same way you had them before.

    They added this in Lollipop and it has improved with Marshmallow. Still takes a little bit of work, but nothing like it used to when you'd have to make a list of your apps and download them all manually if you weren't rooted and running Titanium backup or something.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. kevsgroove

    kevsgroove Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    Ratings:
    +73
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    I'll check it out, thanks.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. kevsgroove

    kevsgroove Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    Ratings:
    +73
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Now rockin' MMB29S. Turned off the Nexus 6, pulled the SIM card and checked for updates. It downloaded seamlessly, and installed with no problem.
     
    • Like Like x 1