1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Update and failures. Any help would be great.

Discussion in 'Droid X Hacks' started by dtt255, Dec 10, 2010.

  1. dtt255
    Offline

    dtt255 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well I unrooted and used TB to freeze some programs that were only usable when rooted.

    I don't remember uninstalling any programs that were standard on the X when I got it.

    I have tried the OTA and the update.zip method of upgrading and BOTH FAIL.

    Can anyone help me with this situation?

    I don't know what else to do....

    Thanks
  2. ViciousCircle
    Offline

    ViciousCircle Android Addict Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    570
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Usually that is because something isn't there in system/app. The OTA checks that before applying. I had a failure, and went back and noticed that I'd forgot to rename the protips.apk back from protips.bak. Once I did that, it went through. If you don't have everything that the ota is looking for, you may have to use an sbf to get you back to a setup that will let you apply the ota.
  3. Turbod
    Offline

    Turbod New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mine was giving me trouble this morning too. It ended up being that when I was naming apps back from .bak to .apk, I accidently made Vvm.pak instead of Vvm.apk. Took me a while to find it, this thread gave me the idea to go through the list again.
  4. jase
    Offline

    jase New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mine gave me trouble as well, and I hadn't deleted or renamed any apks at all.

    Turns out I HAD modified my build.prop file. When I reverted back to the unmodified stock file from a backup copy I had made, the upgrade went fine after that.
  5. chkmate
    Offline

    chkmate New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Round Rock, TX
    To the OP. I would think you would have to restore everything including defrosting apps with Titanium BU prior to unrooting and attempting OTA. Could be wrong.

    You also need to make sure the SU apk and any related files are gone.

    c]=[k(V)8's Droid X Tapatalk
  6. dtt255
    Offline

    dtt255 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I appreciate all the responses. Here is what I don't understand.

    I have not manually changed any file extensions. All I did to the unit in the past was rooted the unit and installed a few apps. Nothing more.

    I didn't rename any files etc.

    Is there a list of files I need to check for and make SURE that they are not changed because I don't even know where to start with that.

    Thanks again.
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2010