Unwanted shutdown/factory reset

jedi

Reaction score
This morning I looked over and saw my phone just rebooting/shutting down. That was the last time I was able to use it. Unable to power on after many attempts (essentially just unresponsive).
I haven't installed a new app in weeks. Have been noticing lag recently.

The battery was fully charged at the time. I tried a recovery. Fail. Ended up having to do a factory reset. And things are "back to normal" (aside from me spending half my morning doing this and reconfiguring everything)

As a technologist by trade (although not when it comes to mobile devices), not knowing the cause of something like this bothers me greatly.
Was there an update this morning that went bad?

I guess my only question is have others had this happen? Anyone venture a guess as to why? And how to prevent in the future?

thanks

jpcalhoun

Reaction score
This morning I looked over and saw my phone just rebooting/shutting down. That was the last time I was able to use it. Unable to power on after many attempts (essentially just unresponsive).

The battery was fully charged at the time. I tried a recovery. Fail. Ended up having to do a factory reset. And things are "back to normal" (aside from me spending half my morning doing this and reconfiguring everything)

As a technologist by trade (although not when it comes to mobile devices), not knowing the cause of something like this bothers me greatly.

I guess my only question is have others had this happen? Anyone venture a guess as to why? And how to prevent in the future?

thanks