Unroot/Back to Stock (2.2) Without .sbf or RSD Lite - Droid 1 Only

Discussion in 'Rescue Squad Guides' started by jntdroid, Sep 14, 2010.

  1. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Yeah, I see that. That's weird. The last time I tried them they worked.

    As for custom ROMs all I'm going to say about what's changed is "a lot". Once you start flashing you'll be telling yourself "why did I wait THIS long?". :)
  2. TinGodz
    Offline

    TinGodz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Haha, I'm sure I will. I can already notice some features I miss from Cyanogen.

    Just curious: what ROM are you using?
  3. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
  4. fdkatz
    Offline

    fdkatz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Mexico
    Is factory reset enough?

    My screen stopped working. Called Verizon and they had me do a factory reset. I haven't done anything else. Didn't do the wipe cache partition step. I am sending the phone back for a rebuilt (sure worried about their reliability from what I read). Will there be any evidence of rooting left on the phone after the factory reset?
  5. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Yes, unless you either SBF or follow this guide.
  6. fdkatz
    Offline

    fdkatz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Mexico
    I was able to do the wipe cache partition, so I've done the wiping part indicated in the procedure. I had used nandroid to go back to stock before the phone failed. I am not sure what else the procedure asks me to do.
  7. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    If you can boot into non-stock recovery you need to fix that.
  8. fdkatz
    Offline

    fdkatz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Mexico
    jntdroid's description of the different recovery boot screens was very helpful and allows me to know that when I booted to recover, it was the stock screen that came up. Phew! Thanks all for your help.
  9. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Glad you're in a good place. :)
  10. nagmier
    Offline

    nagmier New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just an FYI the Google Link is down, the DropBox is fine though... hopefully I can convince VZW That they need to give me an Incredible today since I've been through 4 Droids in the last 2 months, I'm kinda tired of this!
  11. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,437
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    Yeah I'm tempted to nix this, especially since a new update is coming down the pipe and I don't have a D1 any more... though I guess I could link to the new update the same way, just someone else will have to provide the file.
  12. teddyearp
    Offline

    teddyearp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    Actually jnt, this method (and the one at my site) is still relevant to those who want to unroot for the latest update. Plus the OTA file we have been able to pull so far is ONLY for going from FRG22D to FRG83D, i.e. it's not a 'master' update file like the one used here, so technically it will not work like this one does.

    I also have the file used here in my file selection below.
  13. zero7404
    Offline

    zero7404 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    i've read these instructions and i'm just about ready to do it because i sold the phone. i've manually deleted all my user installed apps and updates and the SD Card was reformatted.

    prior to doing this, i have the latest FRG83D update (2.2.1) installed, rooted. i see this file is the full stock 2.2 ROM.

    will there be any issue doing this since i'v installed 2.2.1 ? when the phone returns me to the android, i will power it down and package up. i don't want the future owner to run into an issue after activating it with the OS.

    also, i have SP Recovery, will this process return the phone to stock recovery ?
  14. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Nobody's willing to try to install FRG22D over FRG83D. Be the guinea pig -- and yes, the FRG22D update WILL replace recovery. It also installs a script that replaces recovery with stock if a non-stock image is installed.
  15. zero7404
    Offline

    zero7404 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    i tried it and it worked ...

    booted up fine and displayed 2.2 FRG22D as the installed version.
Search tags for this page
flashing sprecovery sbf to stock 2.2
,

frg22d.sbf

,
is there anyway to by pass sbf on motorola droid x2 andriod
,

motorola droid 1 stock sbf

,
return droid a855 to stock without rsd
,
rsd lite droid 1
,
rsd motorola frg22d.sbf download
,
sbf droid x without computer
,
unroot 2.2 droid
,

unroot back to stock 2.2