Unroot/Back to Stock (2.2) Without .sbf or RSD Lite - Droid 1 Only

Discussion in 'Rescue Squad Guides' started by jntdroid, Sep 14, 2010.

  1. joeybarclay

    joeybarclay Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    can we rename that file because i heard of people who were not able to flash something because they renamed it after it was created?
     
  2. jntdroid

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,448
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +300
    If it was me, I'd take the time to do it from scratch. I know it's time consuming, but that way everything would get a clean start. You're right, Titanium will not work without root access. MyBackupPro will work, and can backup just about everything on your phone, EXCEPT for the data associated with apps (however, it can also do that, with root access of course). It's great for things like system settings, playlists, home screen layout (if you use the stock homescreen), bookmarks, call/message logs, etc. There are ways around this of course, but I've never found them to be 100% bug free. So, despite the difficulty, I'd backup what you can with MyBackupPro, and do the rest from scratch.
     
  3. jntdroid

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,448
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +300
    If you use Clockwork Recovery to restore with this file, it doesn't matter what it's named, as long as it ends in .zip. If you use SPRecovery, or Stock Recovery, the file has to be named update.zip to work. I've named/renamed mine numerous times (I use SPRecovery 99% of the time) b/c I do like markwebb - I have it named FRG22D_Official_OTA.zip - or something along those lines. Then I have to rename it to update.zip to flash it, then I rename it again to the more specific name.
     
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2010
  4. otter34

    otter34 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK they're sending another phone. One thing is that if I was to go in the market it shows that I paid for rom manager, titanium and setcpu. Is there a way to erase that?

    Also, how the heck do I get my sd card out? I can't open this damn thing. I tried pushing it and thinking it would pop out, but no. How the heck do I get it?

    Lastly, how long should it take to download my apps from the market? I have about 50 of them and they say, "starting download" for all of them, but really only 2 are downloading. it's been like this for about half an hour. Only launcher pro and maps have downloaded.

    edit: thanks a lot. It took about 4 minutes to do everything!
     
  5. jntdroid

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,448
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +300
    Not that I know of - it's attached to your Google Checkout account, and I don't think there's any way of getting rid of that info. If you use a different Google account to link to your phone, that will obviously disappear. But it shouldn't cause any problems regardless.

    Once you pop the battery out, you'll see the SD Card. If you're holding the phone upright, the SD Card should have a little "lip" at the bottom of it, you just use that to slide it down (toward the empty battery compartment) and it should slide out.

    Totally depends on your connection. It basically has to download/install each app. I don't know the process, but I know it does a lot at the same time. Typically, when I start over, I don't even go into the market. I activate the phone (if need be), sign into my google account, get it to the home page and just put it down until I get the "** applications restored" showing up in the notification area. The market doesn't seem to like you doing anything with it before it's done restoring, for whatever reason (like you said with the "hanging" installs, though they'll likely work themselves out eventually).
     
  6. jakebowenecu

    jakebowenecu New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    signature verification failed.

    I am having the same verification problems as the gentleman earlier. It will not take the update on my phone. Everything is spelled correctly. Could I have flashed a bad 2.1 update 1 to my phone earlier. I used the one from the unlckr thread I found. I took my phone to the verizon store and have a new one on the way. Are they going to check it once it gets back to motorola or am I good to go. Thanks for the help.

    Update: The first thing I see on stock recovery is E:Can't open /cache/recovery/command

    when i try to update I get

    E: failed to verify whole-file signature
    E: signature verification failed
    Installation aborted
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2010
  7. jntdroid

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,448
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +300
    I'm assuming you're referring to "fullthrottle" - and I wish we had heard back from him whether or not he was able to get it resolved. I'm not sure what his issue was, and based on what you're telling me about yours, I honestly am not sure on yours either. Have you tried flashing a different recovery like SPRecovery or Clockwork to see if they'll take the file? What thread are you referring to with regard to where you got the 2.1-update1?

    Sorry that's not more help yet... If you've already taken the phone back, and a new one is already on the way, you're *probably* fine anyway.
     
  8. teddyearp

    teddyearp Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,804
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    Ratings:
    +9
    Current Phone Model:
    Motorola XT1103 (Nexus 6)
    Only thing I can think of is a corrupted download.

    good luck
     
  9. jntdroid

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,448
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +300
    I was hoping you'd see this and chime in what you thought!
     
  10. otter34

    otter34 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Actually I can just factory reset the phone before sending it back
     
  11. nagmier

    nagmier Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can't seem to find it anywhere in the thread I just glanced over it so I could have missed this, this wont put a stock recovery back on my Droid right? and since it wont should I worry about stock recovery and if so can you point me to the right thread? I'm trying to get a replacement Droid, my phone has sensors that are all screwed up and not working properly I keep getting muted while in call and its rebooting randomly.
     
  12. Harrybub

    Harrybub Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    [​IMG]


    HB
     
Search tags for this page
flashing sprecovery sbf to stock 2.2
,

frg22d.sbf

,

motorola droid 1 stock sbf

,
motorola droid stock
,
recovery.sbf para motorola a855 2.2.2
,
rsd motorola frg22d.sbf download
,
sfb droid 1 without rsd
,
unroot 2.2 droid
,

unroot back to stock 2.2

,
unroot verizon droid 1